The Moment of Truth

truth.jpg

I was watching tv the other night and I noticed that The Moment of Truth was on so I watched a few minutes of it.  In case you haven’t heard about it, it’s a show where people are asked questions in order to win money.  But it has to be the truth.  The questions get increasingly harder as the money goes up.  So they might ask you if you’ve ever stolen anything or lied to your partner, etc.  Their family and friends are sitting there watching them as well as an audience.  Interesting concept but a recipe for disaster in my opinion.

Obviously, the questions are directed to try to get the person to lie.  Either they are embarrassing or something they wouldn’t necessarily want to admit to.  Their loved ones are watching them to see what they say and inevitably, they end up looking like horrible human beings. 

When I first started watching it, I thought that the guy was a tool and deserved his family to hate him.  But the more I thought about it, the more I started to wonder if the reason why we seem like nice people is that noone asks us the questions that we don’t want to answer.  How do we really feel about certain people, or what would we really do in such and such case?  These aren’t things that come up in everyday conversations and so you don’t necessarily lie about it to anyone, it’s just that noone has bothered to ask you.  Maybe we would all look like jerks if people were constantly asking us things we didn’t want to answer.  And I’m sure that the show does it’s research to make sure that happens no matter what.

 So what do you think?  Could you face The Moment of Truth and come out a winner?

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Other Peeps, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Moment of Truth

  1. vforvelocity says:

    I’m pretty sure I would look like the biggest jerk if people really knew what I was thinking. I come off all loving and nice, but I’m definitely not always feeling that way inside. So does that make me a liar for holding my true feelings inside, or a decent human being? Hmmm…

  2. Chris says:

    See… therin lies the delima. Are you a liar for being polite when you really can’t stand the person? Or is it worse to really say what you feel? I think that sometimes it’s best to ignore what your truth is for people’s feelings.

    I think everybody knows the person that believes they are doing the world a favor by telling everyone what they think of them even though it’s normally completely unsolicited and just an excuse to be rude. I think I would rather be a liar than that guy. And I say guy because I’ve found that most times it is a guy. Us ‘womenfolk’ are taught to be so sweet and nice.

Leave a Reply

