Book Meme

About a month ago, a friend of mine (Erin) inspired me to cease my reign as the world’s most illiterate person and rejoin the realm of readers.  She is an avid reader and it reminded me that I used to love to read.  Like, really love it.  I can’t say for sure what happened but I fell off the word wagon and I’m climbing back on.  Following her formula, which I thought was just good sense, of reading a non-fiction for every fiction.  Come on brain cells… I know you have some life in you left!

Then I got tagged by a fellow blogger.  I felt honored to be tagged and even though I am incredibly late with this, I didn’t want to flake out on a tag so here we go.  I was tagged from Fighting Windmills

Rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).
2. Open the book to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people.

So I picked up one of the books I am reading and the only one that made sense was Jesse Ventura’s Do I Stand Alone.  In the book, he is talking about getting back to constitutional principles:

“In order for a democratic society to work the way it’s supposed to, we not only need an efficient, corruption-proof government run by the people, we also need a strong social fabric.  It takes both reinforcing each other.  Each one fills a function that the other can’t.”

Not too bad for a former professional wrestler, huh?

Alright, now here comes the tricky part.  I’m supposed to tag some other peeps but I don’t know that many other blogging folk.  So I suppose I will tag some people that I’ve never ‘met’ and make some new blog buddies. 

1.  Brian from In Repair

2. Life lessons from Writing

3. Truthseeker

4. Aspiring Alverna

5. Word Lily

 So now we will see if complete strangers will respond to a tag.  My guess is that a couple will.  If you would like to open up the book you are reading and do the same in the comments, that would be cool.  Let’s see how many different books we are reading.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Other Peeps, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Meme

  1. “Come on brain cells” LOL! 😀

    That’s a great quote for the meme. I didn’t know Ventura had written a book. Well, I hope you get some responses from the people you’ve tagged. Thanks for participating!

  2. Chris says:

    Thanks for tagging me FW! It made me figure out how to add a link inside a word. If you thought I was smart, I guess the gigs up now 😉 And it made me go digging thru the blog-o-sphere to find other people to tag so maybe just maybe I’ve found some new blogs to frequent.

    And BTW, Jesse Ventura has at least 2 books out that I am aware. Perhaps there are more.

  3. wordlily says:

    All right, I’ve participated in your social experiment of tagging strangers! 🙂

  4. Duh says:

    Jesse Ventura. Is that his real last name?

  5. Chris says:

    This is from the back of the book:

    Jesse Ventura was born George Janos in Minneapois. After a six year stint as a member of the U.S. Navy’s elite SEAL teams, he became one of the world’s top professional wrestlers, starred in several major Hollywood films; and was later a popular talk show radio host. Elected governor of Minnesota in 1998 as the only Reform Party candidate ever to win statewide office, he currently enjoys one of the highest popularity ratings of any national political figure. He lives in St. Paul with Terry, his wife of 24 yrs and their two children.

Leave a Reply

