I am still alive

“You are still alive!”  One of my friends just emailed me that sentence the other day.  I had no idea I had been slacking that much but obviously I have.  I guess it’s been a while since I updated you guys on our goings ons so here we go!  A week’s worth of fun times… 

Emma had a field trip to Uno’s Pizza on Wed last week.  She had fun but I’m not sure exactly what the point of it was except for Uno’s Pizza to make money.  The kids took a 45sec tour of the kitchen and made their own pizzas but I later found out that kids always make their own pizzas there.  So I’m still wondering what the point was but whatever.  I suppose it is hard to find acceptable field trip places for 15 4yr olds in the middle of winter.  At least it was only 5min from my house.  Always a plus.

Dan was home Thursday night thru Sat!!!  Yaaa!!!  It’s hard to pack a week’s worth of stuff into a couple of days but we sure try.  I find myself in a whirlwind of activity and fun during those 2 days only to be left exhausted when he leaves.  I’m not sure if he feels as tired as me when he goes back to Indiana but I have a sneaking suspicion that he gets more rest there than at home.  We had a fish fry at his parent’s house on Friday with some bluegill we had frozen from this summer.  Eating it, we could almost imagine we weren’t in a freezing, cold, snowy, gloomy winter but in the wonderful sunny summertime.  Mmmmm… love me some bluegill & specks.

fish-fry.jpg

I knew it had to happen at some point in thier lives but I was horrified Sunday when I watched Gerrit fall down the stairs at Dan’s parent’s house.  I was only a couple steps behind him but was helpless as he fell forward onto his ribs and then flipped over and down onto his head.  His natural instincts kicked in at least (hooray for instincts!) and he put his arm out to brace his fall so he didn’t take the full impact on his face.  He was scared and crying and so I knew I couldn’t freak out or he would never go down a flight of stairs by himself again.  I just kept telling him he was ok and he stopped crying.  I checked him out and he had a red line across his ribs but that was it.  He went to go play again and when he got to the bottom of the stairs, he yelled back upstairs to me “I didn’t fall down da stairs dis time!”     Good job, buddy…  Let’s make that our new favorite thing, not falling down the stairs.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Dan & Chris, Good times, The kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am still alive

  1. So, I’m the first to comment, eh? Well, I very much enjoyed this post because I like that you question your daughter’s preschool and I like fried fish and my daughter and I had the same reaction when she fell down the stairs once. It’s so funny how they “bounce back” after such a scary incident like that. I think my daughter might have said that same thing that Gerrit said. LOL. Anyway, I trust you and yours are doing well. 🙂

  2. FreeFromItAll says:

    So glad you are still alive. I’m still alive too…but you know that already. 😉

  3. Duh says:

    Maddie fell down the stairs once. She didn’t bounce that great because she wound up breaking her collar bone. I’m just lucky like that.

Leave a Reply

