I shall call thee “The Great Flu of 2008”

sick_pumpkin.jpg 

As you can probably tell from the title, I had the flu this week.  Not just any kind of flu mind you… but a MASSIVE flu.  The kind that you remember for years to come.  I know this because the last time I had the flu this bad, it was just after Christmas of 98.  I was so sick that come New Year’s Eve, I dared not drink (NO! say it ain’t so!) and it was also the night that Dan & I got engaged (awwwwww).  I really shouldn’t complain about getting it since I haven’t had it in so long, but I can so I will.

This flu was the debilitating kind.  The kind that makes you think you are dying and/or wish for death.  In between the violent shakes of your body emptying itself, you have a few moments to ponder when exactly did you contract this horridness.  Is it the flu?  Is it food poisoning?  When did I accidently lick a chicken breast coated with salmonella as if it were a popsicle?  Or have I managed to spontaneously acquire a random strain of Ebola Zaire on a shopping cart?  Maybe you don’t picture yourself as having Ebola, but when I feel like my intestines are liquifying, that’s what I turn to.

But it wasn’t Ebola… don’t think food poisoning either since my neighbor got it the same night I did.  And I also had a small fever which rumor has it, is key to NOT having food poisoning.  As if it matters what the hell I had.  I just don’t ever want it again.  Thank the dear lord for my in laws who told me I had no choice but to come to their house and stay.  I’m pretty sure I was severly dehydrated by the time they got here and I must have looked bad enough to scare them.  Or maybe they just aren’t used to looking at me with no makeup and I’m that scary without it.  Whatever the case, I greatly appreciated it.  I could barely walk anymore and crying alone while rocking next to the toilet was getting old.  Honestly, I was so bad.  I couldn’t even produce saliva anymore.  How sad is that?  Pretty sad folks, pretty sad.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Dan & Chris, Uncategorized, Woe is me. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I shall call thee “The Great Flu of 2008”

  1. VforVelocity says:

    Glad you’re feeling better. My Christmas Eve was spent the same way…ugh it sucked! I can’t imagine feeling the way I did and having two kids to care for – eek!

  2. Duh says:

    I’m glad I haven’t talked to you in like a week. I might have caught something!

  3. Wow, Chris. I’m glad you’re okay now and being taken care of by your in-laws. Congratulations on 1000 blog hits!

  4. Oh how awful. I hope you are on the mend!!! I miss chattin with ya! 🙂

  5. Asian Chick says:

    To get better from a flu nothing better than drinking lots of fluids, honey and garlic in a tea.

    Hope you get better.

    Nice blog!

Leave a Reply

