Rollin with my homies

indiana.jpg

This weekend, we made the trip down to Indiana to visit Dan.  While driving for extended periods of time is not my favorite thing on earth, I’d never experienced the joy of driving for a long time with a 4 & 3 yr old.  What a joyous occasion!  If you’ve never had this delightful experience, please do so at your earliest convenience.

Actually, they did an incredible job and it was more my fault than Gerrits for his emotional breakdown.  Being a mother, I should have over-packed and brought a month’s worth of snacks just in case the 4.5hr trip took 5.5 hrs.  In retrospect, I see that now.  But I didn’t and so the poor dude cried the last 30 min.  He kept saying over and over again that he wanted to go home, he didn’t want to go to Indiana anymore.  I tried to explain to him that we were in Indiana already but he didn’t believe me.  He kept saying ‘no we not, we in da car.  see?’.  Poor kid.  How do you explain that Indiana is a state, not a hotel room?

We did finally make it and the kids were ecstatic to see Dan.   That night, we just went to dinner and then let the kids swim for a tiny bit in the pool.  Then it was time for bed.  I was worried how they would fall asleep with us in the room but they somehow managed.  As always when Dan is home these days, Gerrit woke up in the middle of the night.  He climbed into bed with us to snuggle and put his hand on Dan’s face and just stared at him.  It about broke my heart.  These last couple months have been so hard on the kids.  I wasn’t prepared for that.  I had no idea how much it would affect them but I’ve seen it now.  Hopefully, the job will be done in the next couple weeks and life will resume as normal. 

While we were down there, we took the kids to the mall to play and see the Easter Bunny.  We noticed a Build a Bear store and since we told Emma forever ago that when she used the potty like a big girl all the time, she could go.  She’s been in big girl underwear for a year and a half now and Gerrit’s been potty trained for 6months now so I guess it was time.

They had a blast and I made sure I took a ton of pics of all the magical Build a Bear moments.  Here they are

0315081225a.jpg

Emma with her bunny, waiting to stuff it

0315081225b.jpg

Gerrit with his bunny, waiting to stuff it

0315081240.jpg

Gerrit picking out his bunny’s heart

0315081241.jpg

Making a wish on the heart before putting it in their bunnies

0315081241a.jpg

Putting the heart inside

0315081242.jpg

Stuffing the bunny

0315081243.jpg

Done with the stuffing

0315081243a.jpg

Gerrit giving the lady his bunny

0315081243b.jpg

Foot on the peddle, ready for stuffing

0315081244.jpg

Stuffing bunny

0315081245.jpg

Bunny Bath time

0315081245a.jpg

Ain’t no bunny dope as me, I’m just so fresh and… so fresh and so clean

0315081306.jpg

Done at last.  Smiling with Daddy

Emma named her bunny Kevvy.  I know it’s a weird name but what can you do?  Gerrit named his Floppy.  And there ya  go. 

Our trip home took 4hrs.  I carefully strategized their liquid intake and when I would stop for a potty break.  We made it home with no tears and no stress.  All in all, a fantastic weekend.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Dan & Chris, Good times, My family, Road trips, The kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rollin with my homies

  1. Traci says:

    I’m only having children if I am guaranteed they would be as cute as yours :)!

    I’m glad you all got to visit Dan, looks like you had a great time! Makes me want to Build a Bear!

  2. Those are some really sweet photos! It does make Build a Bear look tempting, especially since I didn’t know that the children wished on the hearts before putting them in. That is so adorable!

    Four hour road trips are hard on everyone. It’s great that you managed the trip home so well. I hate the last half hour of long trips with my children. They always scream. How do they know to do that when we’re almost there?

  3. Darla says:

    If your children are like my child, at that age – he would eat almost all the snacks before we got 1/2 hour away from home. LOL

    I’m glad you had fun and were safe! Stop by and visit some time. Miss ya. 🙂

Leave a Reply

