Why do I do this?

It’s my natural personality to just procrastinate and wait until the last minute for most tasks.  Order and preparation are not naturally honed skills for me.  I watch “Friends” and Monica just amazes me with her love of cleaning and order.  Yeah, I know she’s not a real person but people like her really do exist.

In the last 8 months, I have tried to learn these skills and utilize them in my everyday life.  My house (for the most part) has been pretty organized (for me at least).  I’ve gone thru all the closets and as they started to pile up again, I’ve returned to strike down the clutter dragon that seems to lurk in them.  I’ve tried to pick up items when leaving the room to stay on top of the toys, books, dishes, stuff that inevitably makes it’s way away from it’s ‘home’ and ends up on the floor and/or the tables/couches.  It really does not take a lot of time before it’s overwhelming to me and I feel like I need massive help getting it good again.  So I’ve tried to learn to do a little everyday and keep it within 15min of being ‘company clean’.  Flylady was a great tool in teaching me the little steps and for those of you who are orderly retarded, such as I, I highly recommend it for at least a couple months.

But every now and then, I get a colossal reminder of the demon that I wrestle with.  Procrastination… ugh!  My nemisis.  How I love to procrastinate.  And I don’t even know why.  Dan always points out that because of it, I am in a feverish panic and often miss out on a decent amount of sleep because of it.  This was a big reason why I tried to stop cold turkey. 

Tax time has reminded me of this awful trait that I carry.  Here it is, a few days from the deadline and I still don’t have it all together.  My appt with the accountant is tonight at 5pm.  It’s 2:45 right now… why do I do this to myself?  Why don’t I learn?  I keep telling myself that next year, I’ll do better but deep down I know… next year will come and I’ll be right here in the same spot.  Frantic, tired and frustrated.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Me, Stuff that ticks me off, Uncategorized, Woe is me. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why do I do this?

  1. See! I knew that would happen. My comment got attached to the wrong post. 😦

  2. Chris says:

    You jinxed it FW!!! Did you ever think maybe it hates you just for talking trash about it? Let’s see if it’s less irritable in the morning. Maybe I’ll have to ask Me how she manages it’s demonic comment posting. I haven’t seen her have that problem but maybe she does. I don’t keep close tabs on her blog.

    The appt went good actually. I got everything I needed done except for 1 little detail I completely forgot but can easily do (tomorrow, of course). And then another small detail that can easily be looked up. If our taxes weren’t so complicated, it wouldn’t be so hard but I’m starting to get used to the ‘pain’ of digging thru the paperwork and stuff. I feel like I’m getting a little better. And, YAAA!!!, accountant didn’t even yell at me this year like she normally does. Can we say growth? Yeah, I’m totally grown now. Totally

  3. Darla says:

    Oh Chris, don’t be so hard on yourself. Think of this time last year vs this time this year…..need I say more??? LOL

    YOU RAWk!

  4. R.G. says:

    Ahhh procrastination…..my mistress…………..how I love her. Wow that got wierd. However I am a neat freak procrastinator so I guess I have that going for me. As far as taxes and accountants go, I have the best accountant in the world. All I have to do is drop off the W2s and she takes care of everything else, and on top of that she even treats me to dinner. One more Na-na-na-na-na-na for you is that my accountant would never yell at me, in fact she usually tells me she loves me. Oh yeah did I mention that my accountant is my Mom.

  5. Chris says:

    Nice lie RG! Like your accountant would never yell at you. I’m pretty sure that your accountant has yelled at you way more in your life than mine has. At least mine didn’t yell at me to pick up my tube socks off the floor.

    I’m working on trying to be a neat freak. I do love order, it’s just hard to make my brain work that way.

    Thanks Darla. I have come a loooong way since last year. My cilia (haha- shout out to FW for that knowledge) thank me too for that growth.

    Funny how some things change and yet others… not so much.

  6. Chris says:

    Thanks Duh. Can I have that 3min and 18 seconds of my life back? Like you knew what ska was before either. Nice try.

Leave a Reply

