Just a perfect day

Our official song

Eight years ago, I awoke on this day to the sound of my niece’s small voice.  As I sat up in bed, I felt a crick in my neck from sleeping on the wold’s flattest pillow.  The pain tried to entice me to stay in bed for a while longer but not on this day.  I jumped up and came out of the room to find my sister, Steph. 

We drove to the salon to get our hair and make up done.  It would be a long process but well worth it.  I sat in a chair and sipped coffee while the stylist worked on curling and pinning my hair down.  Steph was getting hers done too but I knew it wouldn’t take as long as mine.  3 hours later we walked out like princesses.  All that was missing was our gowns. 

We arrived at the unairconditioned church about 30min later.  Last night’s first ozone action day of the year had led to that minor discovery.  Oops… such a small detail, especially since it was the 2nd ozone action day of the year.  But even the day’s soaring heat and humidity couldn’t keep me down.  It was an exciting day and only going to get better.  At the church, we snacked on a veggie tray and deli sandwiches brought by a friend.  No fainting maids on this day!  We dressed and fixed last minute details.  My sister attached my train and I waited with my Mistress of Ceremony as my bridesmaids left the room. 

It’s been 8 years but I can still remember so well exactly how I felt that day.  Not a touch of nervousness, just pure excitement.  There were no tears for me, I was way too happy.  But the hardest part of the day up til then was not being able to talk to Dan.  Here was the most exciting, wonderful, happy thing that had ever happened to me and I couldn’t talk to the one person that I share everything. 

I couldn’t wait to see him.  I wondered if he would like my dress, my hair, my gloves.  Would he think I looked beautiful?  My dad met me at the closed congregation doors.  I took his arm and they opened the doors.  There he was.  He looked so handsome in his tux.  Uncomfortable in the heat but a smile for me anyways.

The ceremony was beautiful and fast.  I laughed when Dan said my full name (Christine) in our vows.  It’s been the only time that he’s ever called me that to this day.  Then Matt & Steph sang David Allen Coe’s Would You Lay Me (full song link & lyrics here) while Dan’s brother, Kevin accompanied them with the guitar during the lighting of the unity candle.  We chose that song because it seemed so appropriate.  If you listen and read the lyrics (I really hope you do:) you can see that it asks would you be willing to love and sacrifice for me if I give myself to you.  To us, that was important since marriage often takes work and compromise.  Certainly, loving each other just isn’t enough.  I’m not sure if anyone on the planet has ever understood our choice of song there but that’s ok, it was our wedding not theirs.

A limo waited for us after the ceremony.  We arrived at the reception about an hour later with only 1 quick stop at a gas station for the bride (classy) 😉  to use the rest room.  Our reception was to be the biggest party we ever threw and we wanted it to be a great one!  We did the usual stuff like dinner and cutting the cake and drinks were had by all.  It was a grand celebration and when it came time to leave, it was hard to get people out the door.  I think everyone had a wonderful time.  I know Dan & I did.

My Our wedding day was over but it was perfect.  Our family and friends made it a perfect day.  At the reception, they got to leave us hilarious video messages for us to watch later.  3 guys (they know who they are LOL) decided they would leave us a naked video message but fortunately family, friends and their mother talked them out of it while they were still in the parking lot.  I still crack up when I think about that.  I loved every minute of it, from sunrise to sundown.  It was beautiful and joyous.  It was our wedding day and I wouldn’t have changed a thing 😀

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Dan & Chris, Good times, I got sunshine, Music, My family, Other Peeps, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just a perfect day

  1. tracy says:

    Happy Anniversary! i remember this day too!! Congratulations on building a lifelong love and bond with each other! you are a wonderful couple 🙂

  2. henrysmom says:

    Hmmm could I possibly be hitched to one of the naked suspects? Ahhh glad the years have matured him just a wee bit. Great writing Chris!!

  3. Chris says:

    ROFLMAO Henrysmom! That is one of my best memories of that day. I always ask Dan when we go to a wedding/reception ‘yeah, but did they have guys with a sock covering them in the parking lot? i think not!’. I don’t think anyone will forget that part of the reception 😉

    Awwww… Tracy. You are so sweet. Thank you! And thanks for making it such a special day for us. You were an important part of that day too 😀 Thanks for not fainting hehehe

  4. Angie says:

    Happy Anniversay Late….Congrats on 8 years together. Sometimes it is not as easy as you think it will be.. That night was fun even though I don’t remember too much. We had a lot of fun…

  5. Chris says:

    Ha ha Ang, I think a lot of people have that same problem LOL! But we’ll all remember having A LOT of fun and that it was insanely hot. And you’re right, it’s not always easy but nothing worthwhile ever is. Glad you finally found me 😉

  6. Chris, I read this last week, but I was already in Davidson and couldn’t make a comment. I just think it’s hilarious that the song is called Will You Lay With Me, yet your version of it is apparently Will You Lay Me. Very pretty song and very funny Freudian slip. 😛

  7. Chris says:

    OMG FW!!!! Are you serious? You waited almost a week to tell me that I turned my wedding song into a completely inappropriate name?!?

    It’s so funny, I have to leave it. But yes… the actual song name is Would You Lay WITH Me. Not lay me. Geez. Wouldn’t it be hilarious if that was really the song title? Talk about an interesting wedding 😉 Glad you got home safely.

  8. Inappropriate. Appropriate. It’s all relative. LOL.

    At the time I read your post, it actually got the song going in my head “Second Hand News” by Fleetwood Mac. Won’t you lay me down in the tall grass and let me do my stuff? I had to click on the lyrics you linked to so that I could see what that song was really about and then I didn’t want to tell you because I thought you or someone else would catch it and you would be subtle about editing it. It’s a very nice wedding song.

    Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

