The Olympics

Am I the only person out there not watching the Olympics?  I feel like a jerk.  Here it is, a wondrous event that only comes every 4 years and I can’t get myself to watch it.  Is it because it’s sports?  I dunno.  I’ve always marveled in the past and sat glued to the tv watching such craziness as synchronized swimming just because it was the Olympics.  Now, I can’t even turn on the TV.  I don’t know what’s going on.  Maybe it’s because it’s in China and that seems to have robbed it of it’s Olympic spirit.  It does seem like an oxymoron to me that it’s being held there.  Maybe it’s something else.

When I mentally think about watching gymnastics, wrestling, swimming, diving or even the running this year, I like the idea of watching it but it seems like too much effort to find it on the schedule.  To actually move over to the couch and turn on the TV seems like a lot of work.  Especially when there seems to be too much to do in real life.

Maybe that’s it.  Perhaps the writer’s strike cured me of my TV addiction.  We went so long with nothing on the boob tube that I forgot how to watch it.  Maybe I actually have gone out and gotten a life or something resembling it.  Maybe network executives did us all a favor by holding on tightly to their greed and refusing to pay royalties to writer’s.  In doing so, they seem to have liberated me.  It just sucks that I can’t enjoy the Olympics.  I’ll try to get into it.  It feels like it’s my civic duty to care.  So I’ll try.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Me, Other Peeps, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized, Woe is me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Olympics

  1. I think we’ve been watching enough for both of us! Swimming and gymnastics have been. Track and field has not started yet.

  2. I haven’t watched anything, yet. My parents took my brother and I to the Atlanta Olympics. We saw some equestrian and some track and field. My brother saw some of the men’s basketball games. I guess this time around I just don’t care because my children won’t sit there and watch it with me and I would rather have them entertained than suffer through their whining about what’s on TV.

Leave a Reply

