Training Week 1

Well, the first week of training for the half marathon is not technically over.  I still have Saturday’s big run of 4 miles to complete but I thought I would update you.  I’ll have to add tomorrow’s run into next week’s update.

Monday was day 1 of training and included a 3 mile run.  I knew that it was coming and so I actually ran 3 miles on Thursday and Saturday the week before to prepare.  Megan and I met up on Monday and completed our run without dying.  We had a good pace and were able to talk while running so that was good.  We’re both new to this running world so we were proud of ourselves for completing it and our pace.

Wednesday, I ran with Cheri.  She is my latest victim of recruitment.  She is a better runner than I am and been doing it way longer but we found a comfortable pace and completed our run in good time.  I had just developed a really nice cold the day before so Cheri turned me onto chewing gum while running.  This was a new trick for me and I got to say, I liked it.  It helped clear out my sinuses while I ran so I could breath which is always a bonus.

Thursday’srun with Megan was not so fun.  I awoke that morning feeling like super crap and Gerrit didn’t help the matter by waking up 7 (yes you read that right 7!) times the night before with bad dreams and craziness.  I have no idea what his deal was but it certainly did not help in my cold healing process.  The first mile was the worst and I constantly thought about how crappy I felt but then we got in our groove and I started concentrating on my pace and breathing.  We completed our 3 mile run and did a much smaller woohoo in celebration.  It was for sure tougher that day and I can only imagine it was from doing it 2 days in a row.  My head feeling like a swollen snot ball doesn’t help matters but I can only play the cards I’ve been dealt. 

Hopefully, this cold will leave quickly and I can continue on my training without the added complication.  Maybe this will actually be a blessing and training will seem a bagillion times easier when I’m healthy.  That’s what I’m clinging to at least for now. 

Megan & I officially registered yesterday!  I am now also known as #144608.  Please make a note of it as I’m considering having my name changed to that.  It’s got a nice ring to it, doesn’t it?

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Girl Time, Half-marathon, Me, Other Peeps, Running, Uncategorized, Woe is me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

