The end of days

Amber

A little bit of sadness always envelops me the middle of August.  Summer is my favorite season for obvious reasons.  There’s so much to do and the warmth and sunshine just make me feel happy.  Even a nice rain or thunderstorm in the summer doesn’t seem so bad.

My nemesis is winter.  I hate the cold.  I hate the snow.  I live in a state where you just never know.  For six months, you have the possibility of wintry crap and I hate it.  I think I could learn to not mind the winter months if it promised to stay in it’s designated months but it refuses to play by those rules.  Every year, it likes to crash the fall party and then it lingers into spring like a hungover, stranger sleeping on your couch New Year’s Day.

I’m excited for our family trip to Ludington to come on Saturday but I’m also a little sad.  It will be an awesome time and a great vacation.  But I also know that it means the end of my glorious summer.  Emma starts school September 2 and Gerrit will start preschool on the 8th.  The weather will cool and soon the sky will be puking snow at me. ~sigh~

Until then, I’ll be living up the end of my summer days.  Hopefully, you are too 😀

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Cool as ice, Me, Stuff that ticks me off, The kids, Uncategorized, Woe is me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The end of days

  1. Nicole says:

    “soon the sky will be puking snow at me”
    I’m totally stealing this one….I can’t wait to use this line on someone!

  2. Duh says:

    And I’m so very very happy that summer is almost over. So happy. But then again, I didn’t go on like 20 vacations this summer like some people…

  3. Chris says:

    Nicole, you are more than welcome to steal it. I’m sure they will be highly impressed with your metaphoric use of the english language. I bet I’ll even forget that I said it if you use it on me!

    Duh, I know you are looking forward to summer. But you have a way hotter summer than we do and your winter doesn’t even think about being like ours. I know you think you wouldn’t mind the cold but you just don’t know. It sucks. And if you want to go on 20 vacations next summer, you best be making some friends!

  4. Duh says:

    Are you kidding me? I go on vacation to get AWAY from other people.

Leave a Reply

