Life lately

What a difference a month can make.  What was my life a month ago, is just a faded memory at this point.  Summer was so relaxing and fun, I guess it’s only fitting that now I have to work my butt off.  It’s only fair.  And in this post, I’m not complaining.  I’m merely stating the difference in what was my life and what is my life now.

The same day as Emma’s first day of school, I started watching a 10 month old baby girl.  Her name is Nadia and she is adorable.  In a lot of ways, she reminds me of what Emma used to be like as a baby so it’s nice to have her around.  She is a sweet baby girl and I love having her around 3 days a week.  In fact, she’s so sweet and easy to handle that I almost feel guilty taking money for watching her.  Except at mealtime.  I actually  earn my money when I feed her.  She hates to eat and I have to trick her into eating the majority of bites at every meal.  Just one more thing she has in common with Emma LOL.  It’s been almost a month exactly since I started watching her regularly and I’ve grown very attached to her in that time.

The next baby to come into my daily life is my nephew, Rylan.  Of course, he’s been in my life before now but now I am watching him on the days that my sister in law works.  Rylan in so many ways reminds me of Gerrit and always has.  While being 2 weeks younger than Nadia, Rylan is by far bigger and heavier.  You wouldn’t recognize that they are that close in age if you saw them and you would immediately guess that he was the older of the two.  While Nadia hates eating, Rylan loves it.  He’s more than happy to snack and eat his meals and I can safely say that I can feed him in about 1/10 the time it takes me to feed Nadia. 

And so far, those are the two extras that I have plus my own.  Today was the first time I had to take both Nadia & Rylan into Gerrit’s school to drop him off.  I was anxious at first to see how it would work but I managed.  I carry Nadia and thank goodness I still have my stroller that I can push easily with one hand.  Loading and unloading them is a unique challenge.  I figured out today that both their infant carriers would stay in the back seat of the van and I would load and unload them 1 by 1 out the back and over the seat.  Time consuming but easy enough to handle.

Next week, I add a boy named TJ.  He is 15 months old and will only be here on Tuesdays.  He is new in my life and I’m curious to see how the little ones will interact.  I met him only 1 time before but he seems like a sweet boy who is easy going.  He is the nephew of my friend, Angie and I’m sure I would have heard about it if he was a hellion!  I’m trying to work it out that Rylan doesn’t come on Tuesdays so it’s not so crazy. 

My kids have been so helpful with the babies so far and I imagine that they will continue to be.  It really shows me just how self sufficient Emma & Gerrit really are in comparison to 10 month olds.  Some days, they seem so small but when I have the babies here, I can really see just how grown up they are.

This past month has flown by.  I can’t explain how fast it’s gone for me.  I can’t believe Wednesday will be October and Gerrit’s birthday will be on the 9th.  The time goes by so quickly and I find it hard to sit down long enough to blog.  And if I do blog, there just seems like there is SO much to say, how do I say it all.  I’m sure I’ll find balance again.  I am just starting to figure out this new routine and feel like I’m in control again.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Me, Money, My family, Nieces & Nephews, Other Peeps, The kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life lately

  1. Tracy Kinney says:

    so does this mean you have no time for running and you totally want to bail on the half!?! I hate it so much–if it wasn’t for you and Summer doing it, i would totally NOT do it! It is safe to say that an activity I once rather enjoyed, might be ruined forever because i dread every step now! ugh–sad.

  2. henrysmom says:

    I’m so glad to hear you say such endearing things about the children you are watching while your kids away at school. We moved this weekend to our new town and left our sitter behind last week. Henry started his first day at his new sitter today and it was emotional. I know I’ve picked a great sitter and feel like I made the right choice to move, I just feel like its going to be a hard adjustment for him. Our sitter really did become a part of our life and I know that Henry was considered one of her own. Her children adored him and I know we all have small holes in our hearts from what we are missing. Keep up the good work, its amazing people like you that allow a few of us to continue working our jobs with the assurance that we aren’t causing our kids to suffer consequently. Thanks!

  3. I’m impressed that you can take care of other people’s babies. In the past I’ve tried, but I’m just not good at it.

  4. Chris says:

    Tracy
    Haha… I see you digging for your golden oppotunity to bail! Actually, I have not been able to run the last 8 days and I’m going out of my mind. I’m really sad and I think my body misses it’s endophines 😦 If you hate it that much, you know, you don’t HAVE to do it. Nobody is in a position to judge you unless they’ve A) Trained for it and B) completed one. It’s not like you haven’t done a triathlon to prove how much you rock. Do you absolutely need this star? Ok… that was my pissy ‘i can’t run so nobody can’ attitude talking. YES, you have to do this cuz you ain’t no quitter. Bitch all you want, YES. Quit, NO.

    HM
    Thanks so much! I think the 2 years that I had to leave my babies with someone else (Sandy) helped show me the qualities that moms/babies need. Sandy has and continues to be such an amazing blessing to my family, hopefully I can share that with others. I know it’s so hard to leave your children with somebody else to go to work but it makes it a lot easier if your kids love them and look forward to going over there. And I think it’s great for the kids to interact with each other. My kids are learning skills and empathy that they might not learn at this age without babies around. I hope your new sitter turns out to be as fabulous as your last. I’m sure Henry will let you know soon enough!!! Kids happiness is the best indicator to me if it’s working out. Are you loving the new house!

    FW
    I don’t think I could ever run a ‘day care’ per se. I’m just watching babies that I already know. And they are so adorable, it makes it a lot easier. AND even better, I get my baby fix without having to have anymore!! So bonus for me. I guess it’s not so unusual that I stumbled into this. It makes me nostalgic about my bus driving days. Those little ones are just so stinkin cute!

Leave a Reply

