Surprise

Four and a half years ago, I was asked by a co-worker (Linda) if I was pregnant.  I shook my head no and looked at her like she was crazy.  Emma was 7 months old… of course I wasn’t pregnant.  I asked her why she would ask me that and she told me I was glowing.  Uhh… maybe I’m just getting some sleep now that Emma was sleeping thru the night finally.  I brushed it off and went to meet my boss for a meeting and 30 minutes later, my boss asked me the same question.  Why does everyone keep asking me that?  Mary asked me if I could be and I said I guess.  I don’t think so.  On the way home, I decided to buy a pregnancy test to make sure.

I took the test and it turned positive about 5 seconds into the test.  That freaked me out.  I had never had a positive at home test with Emma and it was weird that it turned so quickly.  I decided to put Emma in her infant car seat and go to Walgreens to buy another test.  I felt like an ass buying that while holding Emma in her car seat.  She was so tiny and the clerk looked at me like I was a crackhead.  I got home and the 2nd test turned positive immediately.  I was for sure pregnant. 

I wasn’t sure exactly how to tell Dan.  He was working late that night.  Out of curiosity of my due date, I searched for an estimated one online.  It told me the end of October and I headed to bed still contemplating how I would tell Dan the surprising news.  Before I could let him know, he noticed that I had googled pregnancy and so he found out that way.  We were both surprised but happy.  It was going to be an adventure.  To say that our family was shocked when we told them would be a huge understatement.  I think the general consensus can be summed up best by my sister’s reaction… “you’re crazy”.  And we were.

The pregnancy was pretty good and uneventful.  I was a lot more nauseated this time but it seemed natural since I was working and taking care of baby.  I was sad when my doctor told me I should ween Emma but I understood it was for the best.  I finally stopped nursing when she was 8 months old.  I wondered how she would handle a new brother or sister but her pediatrician reassured me that she would handle it fine.

The thing that sticks out most in my mind is how often people would ask me if I was having twins.  I carry right in front and my belly looked like I had swallowed something huge.  I wondered how big he was going to be and my anxiety was heightened when I started measuring 2 weeks bigger than I should at about 30 weeks.  My doctor assured me that she wouldn’t let me have a 10lb baby and I tried to feel better.  My due date was October 22nd (2 days before Dan’s birthday) but when I had my appointment on October 5th, my doctor said I was already dilated to 3.  She told me to make my next appointment but she figured she’d be seeing me before then.

Sure enough, October 8th, I was dreaming away early in the morning when I remember dreaming that something hurting me.  “Ouch” I said in my dream.  But then it hurt again and I starting realizing that it was hurting in real life.  I woke up and could feel a contraction.  I had been having regular braxton hicks contractions but this was a real one and hurt for real.  It was 4am when I got up and I was excited that by the end of the day, my baby might be here.

I don’t know what I was thinking.  My body doesn’t know how to have babies quickly and 36 hours of labor with Emma should have taught me that.  But I guess hope springs eternal and I was optimistic that I might have this baby the same day as my labor starting.  Nope… October 9th came and at 9:28am, so did my son.  He was born 2 weeks early and 9lbs.  He was a big, giant, round ball of a baby.  He was adorable with all his fatness.

 

Gerrit Michael

He was born with black hair and blue eyes

And then blond hair grew in and it made the black hair look like a bad comb over

His first camo hat

Emma at the hospital to meet her new brother.  She was 15 months old and too small to understand the concept of a brother

Emma with her new toy that Sandy gave her to ‘ease’ meeting her new brother.  She was never jealous fortunately.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Dan & Chris, Good times, Me, My family, Other Peeps, The kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprise

  1. Awwwww! Happy Birthday, Gerrit! Emma looks so little. I was 14 months old when my brother was born. That’s amazing that she was never jealous. The Elmo phone! We have that too.

  2. Isn’t it amazing what our body is designed to do? I was still nursing Little Man when I was pregnant with Baby girl He pretty much weaned himself… at 21 months. Even at that age I was a bit sad.

    Still… Wow. 36 hours of labor.

Leave a Reply

