The hopeful cynic

For a person who believes strongly in the power of change, I find myself doubting people’s ability to do so.  Maybe deep inside I’m really a skeptic.  Maybe I’ve just seen too many people fail. 

I know that people can change if they really want to… but what I doubt is their desire to do it.  Is it that they’re too complacent?  Do they not have the know how to do it?  Or do they think that they have when in reality, they did  for a minute but have returned to their former selves? 

Obviously, people are unique and different and it’s unfair to lump them all together in one failing bunch.  I try to keep believing that people can change their ways, give them the benefit of the doubt.  But I suppose that somewhere in my brain I’m thinking they probably won’t.  I hope they will, I hope I’m wrong but so many times, I’m not.

I wonder if it makes me a cynic or a realist?  I do honestly believe that every one of us has the power to change ourselves… I don’t know why they don’t.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Me, Other Peeps, Random Ramblings, Stuff that ticks me off, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The hopeful cynic

  1. Traci says:

    People don’t change because they are afraid of it – it’s just that simple. It is WAY easier to keep doing things the way we’ve always done them – even if it isn’t the best way. Change is scary and it requires a lot of work – especially the older we get.

    I work with change on a daily basis…suggesting it and hoping the people will learn and grow because of it. Sadly, I know that many don’t make changes that will likely make things easier for them in the long run. People often don’t see the big picture and keep on doing what they’ve always done – it’s easier after all….

    Kay…off my soap box!

  2. Betsy says:

    “Until the pain of staying the same is greater than the pain of change…there will be no change” (quote from AA)

  3. Chris says:

    You ladies are right… too bad the pain of the people around them isn’t enough most times 😦 Wouldn’t it be great if they could see that change is really easier in the long run? Not harder?

  4. Duh says:

    What the heck are you talking about?

Leave a Reply

