On condition

Savage Chickens - Unconditional Love

Somehow the topic of unconditional love popped up in a conversation I was having the other day.  While I didn’t have much time to ponder it right then, the concept stayed with me and I’ve been thinking a lot about it lately.  Unconditional love… what does that mean?

In theory, I think that people would say it’s a great thing.  It’s romantic to love someone unconditionally but is it sane?  Is it realistic?  By definition, unconditional love means that I’ve erased all conditions.  I will love you no matter what.  And while that may sound swell to some folk, it sounds terrible to me.  Imagine it… you love someone no matter how they treat you.  You love someone no matter how they treat others.  No matter what.

I think a lot of people would say that they love their spouse unconditionally but do you?  If they beat you, would you still love them?  What if they beat your children?  At some point, to save yourself and your kids, you would have to stop loving them.  Your sanity and your health would depend on it. 

Next would be the unconditional love of a child.  I would say in most instances, this would be the most realistic form of unconditional love.  But once again, is it feasible that in every instance you would always love your child?  If they were a mass murderer could you keep loving them?  What if they were a serial rapist?  Or a child molester?  Honestly, would there still be love in your heart?  Or would it slowly be erased away with each atrocity?  I don’t know.  

It seems inconceivable to me that a person could truly love anyone with a pure, unconditional love.  To be honest, I don’t think I would want someone to love me unconditionally.  That seems too easy.  Things that come for free are hardly ever valued as highly as something that you had to work extra hard to get.  If I know that I can lose it, I cherish it. 

What do you think?

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Me, Other Peeps, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On condition

  1. Well, I agree with you. My love waxes and wanes. Maybe only upon giving birth and seeing your baby for the first time, then it is unconditional in that moment. But when my husband makes me angry I have to say my love for him is quite conditional. Sometimes I have even reached the point of seething with hatred for him. That cartoon is very funny. You always choose the most appropriate images to go along with your posts.

  2. Tracy Kinney says:

    i think your ponderings are a true reflection of human love and also highlight what makes God’s love for us that much more incredible. that he DOES love us unconditionally and that we cannot earn it…our brains can’t comprehend it. good ponderings for a dreary, rainy day 🙂

  3. Duh says:

    Eh, no such thing. Everything has conditions, otherwise it doesn’t logically exist at all. If there is no conditions, there is no “why”. Why do you love someone? Get it?

    And the god’s love thing is a bunch of crap too. God loves you so much that if you don’t love him and give him the adoration his fragile ego demands you’ll be sent to the bowels of hell to burn and be tortured forever. But at least he still loves you. Haha. Unconditional love. LOL

Leave a Reply

