And you still want to marry each other?

wedding picsIMG_0001

Last Wednesday was Dan’s & my anniversary.  9 years officially married but 14years together.  It seems like a lot until I look at his parents… married 41 years.  What a tremendous accomplishment!

While driving up to Ludington, we talked about our journey.  How far we’ve grown and recognizing all the evolutions we’ve had along the way.  We’ve changed a lot in the last 14 years but we’ve managed to change together.  That’s important to us. 

Since we were in Ludington, Dan had asked his mom if we could leave the kids that night to have dinner together.  I requested that we go to the beach to watch the sunset and so that was added to our plans.  The kids were eating dinner when we were getting ready to leave and I explained to them that we were leaving and why.  They have asked about our wedding before and seen the pictures so I expected them to get a general idea of an ‘anniversary’.  I told them that 9 years ago mommy and daddy got married and we are celebrating that.  Gerrit so sweetly said to me, nodding his head yes “and you still want to marry each other?”.  I’m so glad that I could honestly look him in the eyes and tell him “yes, mommy and daddy still want to marry each other”.

It made me think as Dan & I sat together later how important that is.  Not just putting forth the effort to stay married or even making the decision that you will stay together, but more importantly, wanting to be married to each other.  I am more in love with Dan today than I was on our wedding day and I imagine he feels the same way.  Our life certainly isn’t perfect and we have our troubles the same as everyone but he remains my knight in shining armour. 

We finished the night on the beach, watching the sunset.  The sun decided to hide behind clouds but it was still a perfect moment.  Sitting together in his dad’s matching heavy duty rain coats, watching the seagulls dive into the water after their prey,  drinking some wine and talking together. 

wedding picsIMG_0002

wedding picsIMG_0003

wedding picsIMG_0004

wedding picsIMG_0005

Our wedding party

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Cool as ice, Dan & Chris, Good times, Me, My family, Road trips, The kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And you still want to marry each other?

  1. Nicole says:

    Wow! You guys look so young! Not that you look old now, of course. Congratulations!! It’s just the beginning…

  2. Tracy Kinney says:

    congrats! what an awesome story 🙂 love to you both!

  3. Brian says:

    Happy Anniversary to you both!! The pictures are so sweet and I love that you still want to “get married” after 9 years together. It’s truly inspirational.

Leave a Reply

