Precocious

pink house

Apparently, the housing market is so good that even Emma is looking for her first home. 

It started about 2 wks ago.  The house across the street that had been abandoned (refresh your memory here) a year and a half ago, was finally bought.  I guess Emma had been planning on living there someday when she was grown and this threw a wrench in her plans. 

Never the type to get discouraged, she began a new search for her house of the future.  Everywhere we drive now, she points out ones that she likes and makes a mental note where they are located.  Our trips in the van have become quite entertaining and have left me laughing in my head, listening to Emma & Gerrit’s conversations.

Emma told Gerrit: “I’m going to have my husband paint my house pink”

Which I thought was nice.  Here she is only 6 but already creating a honey do list for her future husband.  That poor man has no idea what’s in store for him.

Emma: “Gerrit, do you want to live next to me and be my neighbor?”

Gerrit: “Yeah, cuz even when we’re grown up, I’ll still be your brother.”

Emma has offered to help Gerrit paint his house green.  Which I guess she’ll have time to help him since her own house will be getting painted by her hubby. 

And you can tell she’s really thinking this through because she asked me the other day “Mommy, can you drive me to my house when I move into it?”

Me: “You’ll be old enough to drive yourself by the time you buy your own house, Em”

Emma replies with a slight note of annoyance in her voice: “Well yeah, but you’ll have to drive me to the license place to get my drivers license first” 

The other day, they spotted townhouses.  They thought they had hit the jackpot!  I tried for about 4min to dissuade them of their choice.  I started listing all the drawbacks of a townhouse vs a single dwelling home and then it dawned on me that I was trying to rationalize a home purchase with a 6 & 5 year old.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Funny stuff, Good times, Me, My family, Road trips, The kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Precocious

  1. Emily says:

    Please tell me where you found the house in the picture!

    emilyanastacia@hotmail.com

  2. Ramona says:

    I’d also like to know where that house is… is it a real house at all?

  3. i love funny stuffs, but i specially like funny movies and funny videos on the internet ,:-

  4. Barbie says:

    Oh my!!! That house is soooo cute! It’s like a cartoon house! Is it REAL!?!?!?

  5. Barbie says:

    I just found that house! It’s Minnie Mouse’s house in Orlando, FL. So Cute!

Leave a Reply

