When passive aggressive meets paint

Dan & I bought our house 8.5 years ago.  When we purchased it, every room was white and plain.  The first room to get painted was actually the laundry room (tan) that Dan built me in the basement.  Next he worked on the bathroom (beige) in the basement so we could start the remodel on the bathroom upstairs (violet so light that you think it’s white).  Emma’s bedroom was the next to get painted (purple) and then not even a year later repainted to a brownish green when Gerrit was born and took over that bedroom.  Our kitchen & dining room got painted a couple of years ago a basic beige color that has a slight tinge of green to it and I continued that color into the hallway.  Dan completed the basement in the spring and obviously painted it (light brown).

All the while, I had bemoaned the fact that my living room was white.  It was nearly blinding.  The more I looked at it, the more I hated it.  Dan was leaving for a week at deer camp and I started scheming.

As I’ve listed above, you can see the general theme of color in our house has been bland.  Emma’s room is the only room with real color in it and the only one that seems acceptable since it’s also covered with butterflies.  Dan and I have always had different ideas of color schemes and decorating.  Finding a couch and chairs for our living room nearly 9 years ago caused more fights than it seemed worth.  And I knew that picking a color would result in conflict.  How to solve this?  By secretly painting it while he was gone.  After all, what could he do if it was already done?  I decided to find out if it truly was better to ask for forgiveness than permission.

My friend, Megan, agreed to help me.  We had a lot to get done in a short amount of time.  First thing I had to do was pick a color.  I was nearly overwhelmed with this task.  As I looked at my chairs and fireplace, I knew I was limited to warm colors. 

Chair I need to find a complimentary color

Fireplace with more warm tone colors

Picture of lip on ceiling

Better idea of white on white

Trim is white on base, natural on window and window is brown

Boring, boring, boring.  I went and got a ton of color squares from Home Depot and then I sat at home trying to pick one.  I was originally going to go with a greenish color but I wasn’t in love with any of them.  And if I was going to do this, I wanted to love the room I was in.  I got a crazy notion and I picked a color… orange.  Burnt orange to be more precise.  And for the trim and lip on the ceiling, dark brown.  Scary, huh?  My least likely to have color house was going to one majorly different room.

Finished product (excluding the blue throw)

The flash distorted the orange color but shows the trim color and the lip on the ceiling well

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Dan & Chris, Good times, Me, Other Peeps, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When passive aggressive meets paint

  1. Tracy Kinney says:

    it looks great! what did dan say???

  2. Looking good!! See, you kinda did take one piece of advice from MK… ugh.

  3. Chris says:

    If Dan didn’t like it, he had enough sense not to say it LOL. He said it was really different and he would need to get used to it but he liked it and we did a good job. I forgot to mention that both her and I were grounded from painting from previous attempts. I think we redeemed ourselves this time.

  4. You did a great job picking the color. It looks really nice with the chair and the stone fireplace.

  5. Duh says:

    I’m sorry, but is that dead fish on your wall? Between the two dead deer??

    I like the color. Not so much the dead animals.

Leave a Reply

