Insane in the membrane

A couple of weeks ago, Dan & I were watching tv.  As I flipped through the channels, I noticed an infomercial for a workout.  I’m not really one to watch infomercials but this one reminded me of P90x so I stopped to watch, wondering if someone had made a knockoff.  I watched in amazement as the people exercised.  Unlike a lot of DVD’s, the people doing this workout actually looked like they were in pain.  The announcer explained the theory behind Shaun T’s (the instructor) workout.  Long intervals of intense exercise with short rest periods instead of long intervals of moderate exercise with short bursts of intensity. 

I’d been wondering how to maintain the level of cardio I had accomplished training for the half marathon.  The snow has been pretty steady since December started and I haven’t been able to make myself run on the treadmill longer than 3 miles.  It would only be a matter of time before I lost all the muscle and conditioning that I’d spent months getting.  The answer seemed to be Insanity.  The longer I watched, the more I had to have it! 

And so we began our Insanity transformation.  We’re just beginning our 3rd week and already I can see & feel a difference.  I thought I was in good shape before but I’m stronger now than I was before.  We did our 2nd Fitness test yesterday and have gotten much better in each category.  I have to say that each workout leaves you panting and exhausted which is exactly what I was looking for and the timeline is perfect.  I should end my 60 days right when I need to start training for the 5/3 Riverbank Run 25k.  My hope is that this Insanity training will lead to my being a better & stronger runner. 

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Dan & Chris, Insanity Shaun T, Me, Other Peeps, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

