I’m bringing sexy back

Not really but my knee is significantly better looking now. 

Perhaps some of you remember my complete and utter camping fail last Memorial Weekend.  Can you recall the puncture wound on the knee?  Well, unbeknownst to me at that time, there was wood actually lodged inside my knee.  Over the last year, I have dug and squeezed to try to get it out.  Somedays it wouldn’t hurt but others it bothered me.  Every once in a while, it would break open and puss would leak out.  Not to get too incredibly graphic, it was ugly. 

I had nearly given up on getting the wood out myself and had even asked the doctor about it when I went to get checked for whatever it is that’s got me sick.  He actually started laughing at me when I showed it to him and made me tell him again how I got it.  Like a simple ‘i fell in the woods’ wasn’t a good enough explanation.  He shook his head at me when I told him that it was almost the year anniversary of it’s lodging.  I can’t say I blame him much.  Anyways, he didn’t want to remove it while I was fighting my illness so he told me to schedule another appointment.  The scheduling lady looked at me incredulously as she read the notes… “do you really have a foreign body you need removed?”.  Uh… yeah.  I could almost hear her imagination whirling away at the possibilities.  I decided to skip this in person awkwardness and just call to make the appointment.

Then on Friday, I kept feeling like the wood was finally poking close to the skin.  Could I get it out myself?  I decided to give it one more try.  I took nail clippers and cut a hole open.  There it was!  I felt like a prospector panning for gold.  I had it!!! 

The wood chunk that lived in my knee for about 335 days

Is it sad that I’m kind of sentimental about my wood chunk?

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Cool as ice, Funny stuff, Me, Random Ramblings, Road trips, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m bringing sexy back

  1. Traci says:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…girl you need to warn people about these pics! That is quite possibly the grossest thing I’ve ever seen…period…ever…

  2. Tracy says:

    that is foul. foul. foul. i am really shocked that you did all that running and training with that in your knee. i am thoroughly grossed out that you cut a whole in your own leg.
    yup, you are def bringing sexy back if that is where we started!!!

  3. Duh says:

    Cool! You are lucky that little piece of wood didn’t get infected though. My mom would say you’re lucky it didn’t travel up to your brain!

    But maybe that’s why you’ve been so sick. Your body was rejecting it.

  4. Pingback: Death and all his friends | Life, Love and Happiness Weblog

Leave a Reply

