Forever young

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.
~Henry David Thoreau

Forever Young

Were you scared for me?  Those of you that knew I was re-attempting to camp?  I know it seemed like I was tempting fate a little too much by going again so soon after dislodging (finally) that chunk of wood from my leg but I really had to do it.  Your mind believes what you tell it and if your memories are negative, surely you’ll be telling yourself that it can’t be good.  In a way, I needed to go camping again to replace in my mind events gone wrong.  I’m happy to report that I did just that.

We had a fabulous time.  The weather was more beautiful than we could have asked for and the friends that we went with were a lot of fun.  The days we spent at the beach and the nights around the campfire.  Someone at work told me to try roasting Twinkies and so we did.  S’mores on the fire, cooking eggs on a grill.  Bug spray & sunscreen.  I actually enjoyed it all.  Although not truly rustic, sleeping in a tent is pretty rugged for me.  I made it through and my mind has evolved. 

Dan, Savannah & Emma

Dan & I

Emma & Gerrit

Dan & Bryan playing frisbee cups (I don’t know if it’s actually called that)

Emma & Savannah

Gerrit & Makayla

The kids all playing on the big sand dune

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Dan & Chris, Good times, I got sunshine, My family, Other Peeps, Road trips, The kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

