Turn out the lights, the party’s over

They say that all good things must end.  I know.

But still, it’s with much sadness that I admit summer is over.  The kids have started school, work is once again calling me in the wee hours of the morning and it’s back to dashing E & G off to their sports.  Volunteering in their classrooms, field trips and homework have commenced.  Back to the normally scheduled program.  Our intermission over.

There’s always a sense of sadness I have when closing the chapter on this particular season.  There’s just so much to do and see while the sun is blazing away for these 3 short months.  Inevitably, I find myself unable to do them all and a tinge of regret sets in.  It comes with the realization that summer just isn’t long enough, especially in Michigan.

My only solace is that it was an incredible summer.  The sun was hot, the days were long and the katydids sang their song.  Fun was our motto and good times our destination.  By the water we sat & swam.  The kids became better swimmers and I perfected my tan.  I was in a contented state of bliss.  Ah… summer!

Then, Labor Day weekend came and B-slapped me across the face.  Summer was over.  The harsh reality of that was driven home by the fact that it barely reached 65 the whole weekend.  Dreary rain and the chilly wind reinforced the concept that summer was kaput.  Playtime was done and real life was about to begin again.

I know I shouldn’t complain.  Really, I’m done.  Now comes the acceptance that I fought futiley against.  Summer is over.  Fall has begun (officially today).  School, work, sports, real life… they’re my reality once again.  But the sweet memory of summer lives on.  That’s something even the biggest snow storm can’t take away.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Dan & Chris, Good times, I got sunshine, Me, My family, Other Peeps, School, Uncategorized, Woe is me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turn out the lights, the party’s over

  1. polestarter says:

    Summer is so fantastic in Michigan because the winter sucks so bad.

    Just remember, all bad things must come to an end.

    D:)

  2. Duh says:

    It’s still summer here if you want to come for a visit.

Leave a Reply

