It had to be you

Dan as the best man & me as the best man’s wife

I think they should change September’s name to LoveUary.  At least this year, that’s the impression it left me with.  3 weddings in 8 days.  Each one, unique and beautiful.  Each couple, madly in love.  The blushing bride, the beaming groom.  It’s exciting to see how each couple takes such pains to plan their day and the details that unfold.  Tiny differences that make the day their own.

I’ve definitely decided that I LOVE weddings.  There’s just something so magical at a wedding.  No matter how many I’ve been to, it brings a tear to my eye seeing couples so overjoyed.  Standing together, looking into each other’s eyes and making those solemn vows.  A new journey together.  The beginning of their lives together.  Watching your friends make a lifelong commitment to each other.

Dan was the best man at one of these weddings and part of his job was to give a toast.  He worked hard on his speech and I was so proud of him.  It was eloquent & funny, sweet & profound.  All the things you’d hope for in a speech.  He talked about marrying your best friend and always striving to be the best person you could be for them.  It was truly beautiful.

It made me reflect on our marriage and relationship.  15 years together and counting.  Into each marriage some trouble will fall but with an armor of friendship, hopefully you can sustain your relationship.  Sometimes, you lose that close friendship along the way and it takes some doing to get it back.  I’ve seen many a couple that has happened to but it’s a beautiful thing when they do regain that connection.  My hope is that they always remember the importance of it and work to protect it.  Shelter it and nurture it.  It really is the core of your marriage.

Since I was not the best man at any of the aforementioned weddings, I’ll make do with an online toast…

I wish my friends a long and happy life together.  May you always cherish your friendship.  And as Jay Z says “may the best of your today’s, be the worst of your tomorrows” ♥

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Dan & Chris, Good times, Me, Other Peeps, Random Ramblings, Shout outs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It had to be you

  1. Duh says:

    I can’t get over how hot you are in this picture. I don’t want to sound creepy, but I’d do ya. 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    Duh, you always know the perfect thing to say 😉

Leave a Reply

