Very superstitious

The world is full of superstitions.  If you’re anything like me, you tend to judge others on theirs.  Then, if you’re anything like me, you get a rude awakening when you realize you have your own laundry list of stupidity.

The kids reminded me of one of my silliest but strongest ones tonight at dinner.  They innocently asked me for a vitamin, which I quickly declined.  “Why not?” they wanted to know.  Smiling to myself, I had to tell them that I think they get sick every time they take vitamins.  We all laughed at how absurd that sounded but even knowing how stupid it is, my brain still wants to believe it.

The mind is truly a blank canvas that we paint with thoughts and recollections.  Our past experiences dictate the ideas we believe until we make a point to change them.  It reminds me of what Dr. Phil says “the best indicator of future behavior is past behavior”.  So true.  It would seem like our minds are great at accurately concluding what the effect will be by a specific cause until you add in reason, then maybe not so much.

It made me start to wonder, just how easily do we start to believe these tiny little errors?  How many times of cause & effect does it take for our brains to automatically predict the outcome without us considering it any longer?  And how many beliefs do we have that are mostly falsehoods?  Some seem more obvious than others… unlucky number 13, knocking on wood or breaking a mirror.  But what about the ones that are more subtle?  The ones that we barely pay mind to?  How do we alter our pattern of thinking when we have yet to discover that it needs changing? 

If I asked you to, could you name your own dumb superstitions?  And have you recognized that they’re just that?  I know that I have made decisions and avoided things simply because of them in my life.  Yet, I’d be hard pressed to change my course of action regarding those decisions.  Sir Psycho Sexy by the Red Hot Chili Peppers will never be played in a moving vehicle occupied by me after 2 accidents.  Yes, they happened over 15 years ago and I’m sure it had more to do with the frequency of that song being played and the fact that we were teenagers driving around constantly than some type of curse but will I ever risk it again?  Nope.  Logic just doesn’t have a part of that decision but I’m ok with that. 

Does that make it better?  The fact that I recognize it?  We were traveling along the other day and Dan commented how we were going to be on time for once.  “We were until you just said that!” I commented with all seriousness.  And when 20 minutes later we were running behind, I knew it was because of that comment.  Well, not really 100% sure it was because of that but there was a nagging doubt. 

The brain is so simple but so complex .  Every now and again, I question if we’re working it or if it’s really the one running us.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Funny stuff, Me, My family, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Very superstitious

  1. Duh says:

    Dave gets really mad when I mention a bad outcome. As if my mentioning it will cause it to happen. I didn’t realize that was superstition. I just thought he liked to live in denial. 🙂

  2. Traci says:

    hahahaha Sir Psycho Sexy! hahahaha

    I’ll never forget it!

Leave a Reply

