Beautiful world

Thanksgiving is a wonderful time.  It gives you a moment to stop, pause and really think about the blessings in your life.  I did just that and was overwhelmed by gratitude.  For a person like me, who was at one time crippled with depression, my life feels like a fairytale a lot of the time.  Well, minus the evil step mother and poisoned apple of course.  It inspired me to write a list of some of the things that I’ve been blessed by. 

I am grateful for:

~ A husband that loves me and supports my dreams, goals & feelings even when they seem silly. 

~ Emma & Gerrit.  They are such great kids and I’m lucky to have happy, healthy kids.

~ Friends that I can truly call friends.  They’re there for me in times of joy and in times of sorrow. 

~ My family.  Sometimes family can make you crazy but where would you be without them?  Sad and alone. 

~ My health and the health of my family.  So many people have to battle serious illness in their spouse’s or children.  I can’t imagine how difficult that must be and I appreciate that we don’t have to deal with those things.

~ My pets.  Quigley, Bailey & Scout keep me company when I feel lonely, snuggle me when I’m sad and genuinely adore me.  The fur tundras they leave behind are hardly an inconvenience when you think of what they offer.

~ Soft & snuggly blankets.  Dan says I have an addiction to buying them but dammit, they’re so comfortable.

~ Our freedom.  People give their lives for us to have it.  We should never lose sight of that.

~ I was born when I was.  Life had to have sucked in the middle ages. 

~ Jewelry.  It’s shiny and makes me feel pretty when I wear it.

~ Music.  It’s my therapy, my muse, my motivation and my friend.  I’m so glad there’s all different types of music too.  The world would be so dull if we all sang the same song.

~ Cheese.  Cuz it’s just good.

~ Wine.  Cuz it goes so well with the cheese… and all the other things that wine goes well with

~ For laughter and smiles.  A day without them is truly a long one.

~ Good food.  This is typically not a byproduct of me but I’m really grateful that other people know how to make the yummy food.

~ Blue skies with puffy clouds. 

~ Kittens with bells on their collars. 

~ Flowers on the side of the highway.

~ Fabric softener

~ Vacuum cleaners.  Gerrit actually reminded me of the fact we should be grateful of this a couple of weeks ago.  As he said “the world would be gross without them”.  Right on, G.

~ Pumpkin cookies, pie, bread, creamer, candles, etc.  Pretty sure if it’s pumpkin something, I love it and I’m happy it exists.

Well, those are just the beginning of things that I’m grateful for.  They’re not in any other order except for how they popped into my head.  I’m sure there’s a hundred more things that I could list but I’ll stop there.  What’s on your list?

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Good times, Me, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beautiful world

  1. polestarter says:

    Don’t forget the greatest invention in the world. No not TV, computers, INTERNET, cell phones.

    Dish washer. A close second would be indoor pluming and the washer & dryer.

  2. Blankets, cheese, wine and fabric softener – oh yeah! Me too!

Leave a Reply

