Pick out your cloud

 

“Your Cloud”

 where the river cross

crosses the lake

where the words jump off my pen 

and into your pages

do you think

just like that

you can divide this

you as yours

me as mine

to before we were us

if the rain has to separate from itself

 does it say “pick out your cloud”

pick out your cloud

if there is a horizontal line

that runs from the map off your body

straight through the land

shooting up right through my heart

will this horizontal line

when asked know how to find

where you end

where i begin

pick out your cloud

how light can play and form a ring

(i found a thrill)

of rain that can change bows into arrows

(i found a thrill)

who we were isn’t lost

before we were us

indigo in his own

blue always knew this

if the rain has to separate from itself

 does it say “pick out your cloud”

 pick out your cloud

 if there is a horizontal line

that runs from the map off your body

straight through the land

shooting up right through my heart

will this horizontal line

when asked know how to find

where you end

where i begin

if the rain has to separate from itself

does it say “pick out your cloud”

The other day, I was cleaning the kitchen when this song came on.  I had heard it a hundred times before but for some reason, I really listened to the lyrics this time.  It struck me that this might be the perfect explanation of love and what it feels like.  As a parent, I struggle with how to define to my kids how they’ll know what true love is and how to know when they’ve met their right person. 

At the risk of being called a romantic, I do believe that we have soulmates.  That person that’s perfect just for you.  The one that compliments your faults and completes you as an individual.  I believe as you grow together, you meld into one.  There comes a point in which you can’t quite define where you end and where your mate begins.  How would a raindrop separate from itself?  And how do you divide your soul once it’s joined together with someone elses?  Yet at the same time, being joined doesn’t erase your individuality.  If anything, I think it compliments it.  Nurtures it to help you become the better you, the better them and in turn the better we.



About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Dan & Chris, Me, Music, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pick out your cloud

  1. Duh says:

    You’re gross.

  2. Chris says:

    You love my grossness… admit it 😉

  3. R.G. says:

    This is either the worst cup of coffee I have ever had or I just threw up in my mouth a little.

  4. R.G. says:

    P.S. Were you drinking and blogging again?

  5. Chris says:

    R.G. That taste in your mouth was being inspired. It’s often confused with bad coffee/vomit. But really it’s just the raw taste of being awed. I do try to write all of my posts while intoxicated so it’s hard to remember exactly which ones might NOT have been written while wasted.

Leave a Reply

