Seether

If the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again while expecting different results, then Apple may cost me my sanity.  In the course of the last year, I have managed to kill 4 iPods and my solution has always been returning them to the store and getting a replacement.

The first iPod was truly the first.  A gift from Dan for my birthday, we plugged it into the computer to install the software and it promptly died.  A black screen was all we could get no matter how many times we held down the power button.  We returned it to the store and got a new one.  “Sometimes, you just get a dud” was the response we got when asked how it happened.  Things went good with the new one and I quickly bought Dan one for Christmas.  So far (crossing fingers), he hasn’t had problems.

Then 2 days before the half marathon, while updating my iPod with my fantastic running playlist, the screen went black.  What the hell?  My iPod suddenly became a very expensive paper weight.  Gone were the games, the pictures, my music!!!  Vanished.  I googled as hard as I could a solution.  I tried hard booting, reconnecting it.  Nothing worked.  It was just dead.  Fortunately, I was able to use Dan’s for my race and when I took it to the Apple Store, they replaced it.  The tech told me that sometimes there can be a ‘hiccup’ while uploading and he thought that had happened this time.

My sister asked me for help getting my niece’s iPod set up (don’t think she’ll make that mistake again).  I tried to update the iPod but it said I needed to update my computer first.  No problem.  Did that & then started the update on the iPod.  It said it was going to take a while so I left it there.  Little did I know what I would discover when I returned.  Can you guess what it was???  Yep, a black screen.  It was dead.  I frantically drove to the Apple store where I saw the same IT guy that had helped me last time.  He remembered me from before & my problem.  A short time later, after replacing that iPod, he told me that I should uninstall iTunes and reinstall it.  He handed me a 3 page paper on how to do just that.

A couple of days later, I sat down to accomplish uninstalling/reinstalling iTunes out of all the programs it was in.  It went pretty fast and in no time at all, I had it reinstalled.  I tentatively plugged the new iPod into my computer and was encouraged when it recognized that this was supposed to be Brooke’s iPod.  I restored it to it’s previous condition and then held my breath while it updated.  30 seconds later, I had my answer… a black, dead screen. 

I won’t share with you the words that I said when that last iPod died but I will tell you what I did.  I packed my entire computer tower into my van and drove it to the Apple store.  I hauled it through the mall and stood in line all while carrying it.  I tried to be reasonable and not take it out on the employees but really, I was past being upset.  As I stood there waiting for someone to come help me, the tech that had helped me those 2 other times walked past the open door.  He obviously recognized me & came out to talk to me… “you aren’t here for the same problem, are you?”. 

The good news is that Apple replaced all those iPods.  And the great news is that Derrick (the tech) helped me figure out the real culprit behind the wasted iPods.  My firewall.  It was the killer.  After turning that off, the antivirus gave it a little bit of trouble too but didn’t manage to kill it.  We successful updated it and I was finally able to put her music & games on it.  Hopefully, this is the end of my rampage and no more electronics need be hurt.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Me, Nieces & Nephews, Other Peeps, Stuff that ticks me off, Uncategorized, Woe is me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seether

  1. Duh says:

    I was gonna say maybe you had a short in your USB port or something. That sucks!

Leave a Reply

