Only the songs that we know

I love to write.  Wait, let me rephrase that… I love when an idea comes to me and I get the delicate task of putting it into words.  The words I choose to express.  The picture I paint with them.  The hope that I might be able to make someone else really feel what I mean and possibly get it.  That’s the part of writing that I love.  Conveying an idea that maybe nobody’s ever taken the time to consider or capturing a thought they’ve already had and connecting with them.  That’s what my hope is when I blog.  By putting it here, I give flight to the things inside me that need to be released or they’ll flutter endlessly inside me.  When I feel like I’ve accomplished that, that’s when I love writing.

So why don’t I post more often?  Simple.  More times than not, my inspiration for a post comes from a song.  They lyrics, the music, they help evoke the story I’m trying to tell.  Like a soundtrack to a movie.  They push, prod and pull it out of me until I feel like it’s done.  I guess that’s why almost all my posts are song titles.  Music creates a comfortable backdrop to share freely.  But what do you do when you’ve heard it all and felt it already?  The battle I’ve been facing lately is where I do I find my muse when I’m sick of all my music?  How do I write more often when my creativity can’t be uncorked?

And so I started wandering around Wordpress and saw they had a topic of the day aiding you in posting every single day.  Every day!  Wow.  That’d be a serious stretch for me and would you people even read it all?  I was doubtful.  Then I stumbled onto this article, a 30 day song challenge.  It makes me curious.  Could this be the solution to my posting problem?  I’m not sure but I’m willing to give it a go.  A way to connect to the songs I already love and possibly stumble across ones waiting for my adoration.  Interesting idea.  Challenge accepted.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge, Becoming, Me, Music, Other Peeps, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Only the songs that we know

  1. Bob Moore says:

    Billy Currington

    God is great, beer is good, people are crazy.

  2. Bob Moore says:

    Words to live by.

  3. Chris says:

    Those really are words to live by!! Good song too

Leave a Reply

