I wanna be around

Day 29~ A song from your childhood

The very first song I remember deeming as my favorite was Tony Bennett’s I Wanna Be Around.  Odd choice, I’ll admit.  But while other kids my age where listening to Michael Jackson and John Cougar (with or without the Mellencamp), I was spinning Tony Bennett’s record in my room.  Yes, I said record.  I can distinctly remember playing it over and over again, belting out the lyrics.  Long before I realized how bad my singing voice was, I serenaded Pinkie the Bear and my 100 other stuffed animals.  My sister & brother were at school and I alone to entertain my Barbies and toys.  For the life of me, I can’t remember what song was on the other side of the record but I’ll never forget the words to I wanna be around.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge, Me, Music, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I wanna be around

  1. Duh says:

    Can we share our songs with you?? This was my favorite childhood song, and I played it on a record player too. lol

  2. Chris says:

    Yes! I totally want people to share their song that fits the day too!!! As long as it’s not this song… really, this explains a lot 😉

  3. Dan says:

    Also on a record.

  4. Traci Meendering says:

    Loved me some Whitney…So Emotional was great! “Ain’t is shocking what love can do…” hahaha I remember watching the video on MTV back when they actually played videos…

  5. Chris says:

    That was a long time ago!!! Back when Whitney could still sing too

Leave a Reply

