Would you lay with me in a field of stone

Day 23~ A song you want played at your wedding

Well, I’m going to change this one to a song we did play at our wedding.  It certainly wouldn’t have been a song I thought I’d end up using for a wedding but when I listened to the lyrics, I agreed with Dan that it was right.  Probably not your typical wedding song, it had meaning to us.  Dan’s best man, Matt sang David Allen Coe’s part, my sister, Stephanie sang Tanya Tucker’s part and Dan’s brother, Kevin played the guitar. 

Would you lay with me, in a field of stone?
If my needs were strong, would you lay with me?

Should my lips grow dry, would you wet them, dear.
In the midnight hour, should my lips were dry.

Would you go away to another land?
Walk a thousand miles through the burnin’ sand?
Wipe the blood away from my dyin’ hand,
If I give myself to you?

Will you bathe me, in the stream of life?
When the moon is full, will you bathe me?

Will you  love me now, when I’m down and out?
In my time of trial, will you stand by me?

Would you go away to another land?
Walk a thousand miles through the burnin’ sand?
Wipe the blood away from my dyin’ hand,
If I give myself to you?

Would you lay with me, In a field of stone?
If my needs were strong, would you lay with me?

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge, Becoming, Dan & Chris, Good times, Me, Music, Other Peeps, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Would you lay with me in a field of stone

  1. Duh says:

    This is the song we danced to at our wedding at the Holiday Inn ‘Holidome’. We thought of it literally 30 sec. before when Dave’s roommate/our d.j. said, “Hey, do ya’ll wanna dance to this?” lol

    • Chris says:

      That’s romantic. I hope you share that story with your kids everytime it comes on. I like to listen to it while I’m getting ready. That’s just how I roll

Leave a Reply

