Magpie

Day 19~ A song from your favorite album

It may come as a huge surprise to most of you out there, but my favorite album is Stephen Fretwell’s Magpie (<—click to listen to more songs).  The chords he plays, his lyrics.  The way that each song seems to tell a story so completely you can picture it.  Unfortunately, most of the songs aren’t on youtube for me to add to this post 😦  It seems unbelievable to me that he’s relatively unknown.  His songs have often been the inspiration to posts for me in the last year.

Run

This was the first song on the album that caught my attention.  I think I could sit and daydream for an hour listening to it.  I have no idea who Gavin & Stacey are but whoever made this their theme song… smart. 

Do You Want To Come With

This was the last song that I really listened closely to and I’m shocked that it took me so long.  The lyrics are so simple yet haunting. 

Play

Play sounds so different to me.  I’m not sure why.  It’s beautiful in it’s release.  He’s obviously telling her he knows she’s over him and it’s ok.  He manages to sound strong in the midst of the sadness.

Bad Bad You, Bad Bad Me

Thanks to Dan for introducing me to Stephen Fretwell.  I’m sure he never expected me to fall in love with it like I did.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge, Me, Music, Shout outs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Magpie

  1. Duh says:

    This is not my favorite Weezer song, but it’s the first song of their’s I ever heard, and it’s been a life long love affair ever since. I love just about every song on the Blue Album.

  2. Chris says:

    I agree. Buddy Holly is probably my favorite but I think Pork & Beans is pretty sweet too

Leave a Reply

