Black Hole Sun

Day 7~ A song that reminds you of a certain event

My senior year of high school, I got it in my head that I needed a tattoo.  I realized that it would be permanent and so I thought long and hard about what I would get.  I pondered and pondered about it, wanting to be absolutely sure I would love it for all times.  Then I saw the cover art to Alice In Chain’s Dirt album.  There it was

Alice In Chains - Dirt CD Inside cover

Now most people, when they love a band, just buy a t shirt.  No, I decided to get a tattoo.  Really, that wasn’t my only reason for my decision.  I loved the look of the sun but I had been working hard on my depression and had finally started to figure out that my happiness lied within.  I had been a victim of circumstance long enough and as cliché as it sounds… if it were meant to be, it was up to me.  I would be my own sunshine and my sun tattoo would be a reminder to me that it was my mission to be just that.  But what color should it be?  The answer was found in another song

The lyrics black hole sun, won’t you come & wash away the rain had meaning for me.  My tattoo would symbolize letting go and moving onto a life of purpose and joy.  The days of misery and heartache would be swallowed up and a new life would begin. 

Nowadays, my tattoo needs a touch up.  It’s black ink faded but it’s meaning lies deep in my heart.  This song is a reminder of it’s importance.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in 30 Day Song Challenge, Becoming, Me, Music, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

