Good man

Today is Dan’s birthday.  A whopping 35 years old!   His gifts included some clothes and the addition of a jaguar carpet python into our home.  Uh yeah…

While he loved all of that, I’m positive that this post will be his actual favorite present.  Take that snake.

His birthday got me thinking about our history together.  23 years I’ve known the guy that I sleep next to, 16 of which I’ve had the pleasure of calling him my guy

This song reminds me of him and our relationship.  We’ve been together a long time.  We’ve grown and life has changed so much but there’s one thing that has always stayed the same… I’m married to a good man.  A really good man.  The type you hope your daughter grows up and marries.  The kind you hope your son grows up to become. 

He works so hard for our family.  His job is very physical and there are some days he literally works until his fingers bleed.  Most people would complain but he doesn’t.  He still manages to come home in a good mood and spend time with us.  Making the kids giggle with his jokes and tickles.  Thanking me for the dinner I made even when it may not be fit for human consumption.

His patience amazes me.  He makes me stop and take a deep breathe when I’ve lost my mind.  Helping me see the big picture when I’m upset about the stuff in life that just doesn’t matter in the long run.  He makes me such a better parent.  Showing me how to have fun with the kids instead of constantly correcting and critiquing them.  After all these years, he still makes me laugh.  Even when I don’t want to.  When I’m crabby and annoyed, he knows how to get a smile from me. 16 years later and I still love spending time with him.  Talking about life over dinner.  Holding his hand while we window shop at the mall.  Feeling 18 again.  My boyfriend forever.

He’s my best friend and my biggest cheerleader.  Always encouraging me to follow my dreams, even when they seem far-fetched.  Reminding me that he believes in me, especially when I don’t.

In a world where husbands get a bad rap from their wives, I’d like to take today and say I’m a lucky girl.  I found an incredible guy and tricked him into falling in love with me.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Dan & Chris, Good times, Music, Random Ramblings, Shout outs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good man

  1. What a blessing. I’ll bet this WILL be his favorite present. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: BrainTrust Query: The Future of Retail – The Destination is You – Phil Rubin « Meyers Research Center: THE BLOG

  3. Cheri says:

    Is it possible to be jealous of you? You have been blessed to have such a “good” man in your life who can teach you, encourage you, love you and make you feel so special. This is every girls dream. A lot of us don’t know how to put such things into words, but you have such an amazing gift for that. Im sure this post will be the best present ever. Happy Birthday Dan. Love you guys tons. Lets get together soon

Leave a Reply

