Be here now

Fellow blogger, Diane at Orange Spice Drop had a great idea of sharing what you’re thankful for using the letters in your name for the week of Thanksgiving.  Uh, somebody pinch me… not only a post topic for every day this week but a way to make an acronym??  Sign me up.

 is for…

Children

Obviously, you assume I’m going to say my children.  While I am incredibly grateful for my kids and think that they are just about the most fantastic people on earth, I am speaking about all children.  Without them, this world would be way too serious.  Munchkins have the ability to remind us of the simple joys in life.  Trying to catch a snowflake on your tongue, the magic in a shooting star, or the excitement of tying your shoe laces for the first time.

Children are also masters at living in the moment.  They don’t worry about next month or next year.  They live in the now.  Our world is so fast paced and an eternal race to do more.  With multi-tasking involved in everything, I would say most of us could use an example of how to live in the now.  Being present within the moment means pausing long enough to take notice.  Slow down and enjoy what it is you are doing right now.  Hang out with a little one for five minutes and give yourself a refresher course.

To me, one of the best things in life is making a kid laugh.  A particularly difficult thing to do if you’re wound up too tight so being with kids makes you take a deep breath and let it go.  I’m blessed that my job leads to so many interactions.  I get to listen to their silly conversations and montage of knock-knock jokes.  I’m the grateful recipient of their unabashed hugs and interesting compliments.  They share their lives and stories with me, even in the limited amount of time I have with them.  That’s a gift to me.  One that I’m thankful for.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Good times, Me, Other Peeps, The kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Be here now

  1. mkultra76 says:

    I agree with you. If the world had no children, then what would be the point? Nothing beats a little kid’s laughter!! 🙂

  2. MitchyMom says:

    Thank you for the reminder! It is one of the reasons I love my job too! 🙂

  3. I don’t use the word precious often; and I don’t mean it cute and furry like a kitty: but I think children are precious, for just these reasons you wrote 🙂

    • Chris says:

      Yeah, I think Smeagol ruined that word for a lot of us. It’s hard to use it without hearing him say in that creepy voice… my precious. But you are right. They are precious. Sometimes we lose sight of that. Mostly cuz they hide it so well somedays.

Leave a Reply

