Down river

Today is the birthday of my blog.  Awww… I know.  4 incredibly, long years ago, I wrote my first post entitled Hellooooooo A mere 53 words long with an attempt at a humorous picture included.  I had no idea when I typed up that simple post, the journey my life would take in the course of a few years or what I would share with all of you.  In the beginning, it was simply a place to post pictures and (once I figured out how) videos.  Then, a place to vent the frustrations of life or the fun moments we’d spent with friends.  It didn’t take long for the random thoughts to trickle in and well, you’ve seen what comes after that.

In the course of that time, the kids have started school, Dan worked out of state for a few months, we’ve remodeled multiple times on our house, I went back to work as a bus driver, ran three half marathons, began my plight as a writer, etc.  There’s been great times and sad times, really exciting moments and long pauses with nothing.  Sunshine and storms, rain and snow.  Time marches on…

I often wonder about the life cycle of a blog.  It seems that some of them are just flashes in the pan, starting out strong but then fizzling out.  I check on them still just to see if they’ve changed.  They don’t.  Then there are the ones that seem strong and fit.  Fine specimens of what a blog should be.  Out of no where, they drop dead.  I wonder what makes the author stop.  How did they know they were done?  Did they run out of things to talk about or did they just lose their passion to share?  Will that happen to me?  Does this blog have an expiration date on it?

I hope not.  Because, as dumb as the word still sounds, this blog is part of my process.  Part of how I make sense of the jibberish that inundates my brain.  It flutters through my mind and writing about it helps me grasp hold of it, stare at it intently until I make some sense out of it.  Random thoughts become well thought out ideas, emotions get recognized and defined, things that make me giggle get told and hopefully they make you giggle too.  In my mind they do.

I like to think that somebody reading can relate and maybe it helps them make some sense out of the flutters they have in their mind too.  Or if they have nothing to figure out, maybe it shows them there’s another way to see things.  At the very least, I hope it entertains.  I hope you never think when you’re reading my words “blah, blah, blah… shut up!”.   Honestly, I’d probably be a little sad… and then I’d probably figure you have some disease of the funny bone.  A terminal case that makes it physically impossible for you to laugh.  So very tragic.

I don’t know what awaits me down river.  I’ll find out when I get there.  Then, I’ll have to blog about it.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Dan & Chris, Funny stuff, Good times, I got sunshine, Me, My family, Other Peeps, Random Ramblings, Running, The kids, Uncategorized, Woe is me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Down river

  1. Brian says:

    Happy belated-blog-birthday!

    I don’t write as much as I used to, but I still love my little corner of the web. Much like photos, I think it is an important way to preserve memories.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Chris says:

    I know! It’s hard to maintain a steady stream of blog posts. I love being able to go back and read what was up in our lives or watch old videos. It was also ironic that I wrote this and then dissappeared for an extended time LOL! Explanation is posted

Leave a Reply

