Frankly, Mr Shankly

A long time ago, when I was just a wee little lass, my mother came up with a highly unusual concept.  She decided that she would try to protect my mind from all the nonsense of this world.  Nursery rhymes and fairy tales were never shared with me.  Dr. Suess books were never read to me.  The Bible given to me instead.  Her plan was to spare my brain from all manner of gibberish and in place of all that, fill it with facts and spirituality.  Honing my ability to think rationally and logically.  Her intent, to keep the silly part of my brain void.

But do you know what happens to empty voids?  They get filled!  It’s practically a universal law… any and all available space will be utilized to the fullest extent.  Have you ever seen an empty garage?  Of course, not!  They all have things in them because space wasn’t meant to be be empty.

Devoid of all nonsense that the world had to offer, I was simply going to have to make my own kind.  And so I did.  I went to work creating my own brand of useless ideas and thoughts.  I flexed and flexed my random thought muscle until it was strong.  Strong enough to work on it’s own, independent of my command.  That random thought muscle of mine worked overtime until, one day, I had stuffed as much gibberish into my mind as I could fit.  Then it spilt over.  Into my everyday brain parts, the random invaded until it became impossible to stop it.  Everywhere I went, sights and sounds would trigger more useless thoughts.  Sometimes I’d share these thoughts with others.  A coworker, a friend, on my Facebook status’.  Maybe you’ve even been the lucky recipient of them.

All these years, I’ve never considered that there might actually be a purpose for the soundbites that blast through my head.  How could they ever be of use to anyone other than a chuckle here and there?  Then a funny thing happened on the way to 2012.  A friend and business owner suggested I use them for the benefit of us both.  I would write my random thoughts for their business and they would pay me money.  ACTUAL dinero for my words!

It took a minute for it to sink in… then I answered with a resounding Hellz Yeah!!! (fist pump included)

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Cool as ice, Me, Money, Other Peeps, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frankly, Mr Shankly

  1. Brian says:

    Yay!!! I love the empty garage analogy. You are hilarious! Good luck with the gig!

Leave a Reply

