Shut up and let me go

Day #4’s run was inspired by my postman and my desire to prove to him that I’m not a hypocrite.  Three running magazines from my renewed subscription to Runner’s World have been delivered in the last week and I’m just not ok with my mailman thinking I’m a big, fat liar.  No, I don’t know his name and I’ve barely spoken to him in the 11 years we’ve lived here but I needed something to get me on that dreaded treadmill.  I think this proves when you’re digging for a reason to run, anything (obviously) will do.

Today, I was tired.  Flat out foggy headed, sleepy tired and sluggish.  The last thing I felt like was getting my run on.  But, as I said before, once that decision is made (for real) you don’t have to make it again.  I begrudgingly wrestled into sports bra, shoved my feet into running shoes and pulled my hair back into a ponytail.  Big sigh… then I started.

While my fatigue made it hard to run at first, it did something else I hadn’t expected.  It created a colossal wall between me and my thoughts.  My legs were moving, my arms were pumping but my brain was quiet.  For once, in such a long, long, long time… there was nothing.  Er, not nothing I guess.  I still thought things like ‘that’s a horrible song’ and ‘why don’t i delete bad songs off my playlist?’.  But really, that was about it.

And it struck me how nice that was.  For a brain that seldom stops puttering, to have a moment of peace.  To just be in the moment and feel what I felt.  My brain wasn’t obsessing about the run like it was last time, it had just given in.  It had resigned itself to shut up and let me go.  It was almost enjoyable.  And by enjoyable, I don’t mean something you are dying to do.  I mean that it didn’t suck in a massively horrible way.  Which is practically a win.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in 30 days of running, Becoming, Me, Other Peeps, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shut up and let me go

  1. Bill Nelson says:

    Keep it going, Chris. While I am not a runner, I am an exerciser and when I first started, the days I felt the worst were the days I felt the best after walking on the treadmill or doing the daily routine. The treadmill has become the place for me to get some book “reading” (ok, “listening”) in when I otherwise wouldn’t make the time. I am getting in better shape all of the time and so I feel much better – aches and pains have actually diminished as time goes by. So – keep running and keep writing! I, for one, am cheering for you!

    • Chris says:

      Thanks Bill! My brain knows it’s something important and that I’ll be ecstatic once I get back into it. It’s just trudging through the creating the habit that’s a bummer. Character growth, right? Glad to hear you are kicking butt in your own right! I love to hear about other people’s triumphs into fitness 🙂 Keep it coming!

  2. I am cheering for you too! You have inspired me… I have new running shoes after all 🙂

    • Chris says:

      Ya! And thanks! I love cheering for me. Somedays, it’s the only thing that gets me through. What kind did you get? I’m in love with Mizunos. I don’t know if I could get something else. Maybe sometime we’ll get a run in together

  3. mkultra76 says:

    I love this–I feel the same way when hiking and working out. And I love the picture. When I’m hiking I feel like the lady on the Nature Valley Granola Bar commercial, all skinny and on top of the peak…I know that is not what I look like, but I feel Fantastic!! 🙂

  4. Connie Wellman says:

    Your writing is awesome….I enjoy it!!

Leave a Reply

