One piece at a time

Day #5   Today’s run was inspired by my thighs.  Not because they felt like going for a run but because I don’t particularly like how they’ve looked as of late.

Now, I know they say you can’t run with the goal just to lose weight but tonight, I did.  I ran for my thighs.  I ran for my arms.  I ran for my calves.  I ran for my abs.  I did not run for my chest (I think we all realize running is not conducive to that area). 

Tonight, I ran for each and (almost) every part of my body that needs me to be a runner again.  That’s begging me to become a runner again.  So yes, it was for vanity’s sake but it got me on there.  I told Dan before I headed down that I was simply running for the time.  I did not care how far I got or how fast I went.  I was ONLY doing my alloted time and that was it!  I started the ‘mill up and went to work.  I was a little slow going at first.  Then I decided if I was going to suffer through this, I could manage a little faster pace.

You know the funny thing?  Once I got going, I couldn’t keep myself from trying… to be faster, to be better, to be a runner.  Tonight, I finished my 30 minutes at a further distance than I have managed before.  I’ll take that.  And I’ll take the congratulatory lick from Scout as I stepped off the treadmill.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in 30 days of running, Becoming, Me, Running, Uncategorized, Woe is me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

