White lightning

Day #3 of Tennessee was to be a shopping expedition much to the delight of 2 women, 3 little girls and the dismay of an outnumbered little guy.  A promise to find him ‘something cool’ while we shopped finally won him over. We set off to find all the things we didn’t know we needed but once we saw them, couldn’t live without.

We hadn’t been shopping very long when we came across the Moonshine sample sign.  Hmmm… sounds like fun but what to do with children?

The perfect solution was right outside the shop.  The kids laughed at this performer’s silly songs as we sampled different flavored Moonshine.

We decided to eat at Dick’s Last Resort for lunch, which if you haven’t been there before… well, let’s just say it’s not for the faint of heart.

A paper crown of insults was promptly placed upon all of our heads…

I don't wet the bed, I poop the bed

The truth comes out at lunch.

My pull-up itches 😦

Obviously, an uncomfortable situation.

I eat boogers

Even if it’s not on the menu.

I ♥ Justin Beiber

Makayla’s left me wondering, if it’s true is it still an insult?

I sniff my own farts

Nearly everyone has to…

I stole my make-up from Family Dollar

I plead the 5th.

The forecast had called for thunderstorms and if we were going to ride the Ariel Tramway to Ober Gatlinburg up the mountain, we thought it should be now.

We all let out a collective shriek the first time we rolled over the towers and the tram swung like a giant pendulum.

But the views were worth my heart dropping into my stomach.

Our ‘conductor’ took this moment in time to announce to us that we were 1.5 seconds above the ground.  So glad she has a sense of humor and a PA system.

This view brought to mind a verse from my favorite poem, Percy Bysshe Shelley’s “Love’s Philosophy”:

See the mountains kiss high heaven
And the waves clasp one another;
No sister-flower would be forgiven
   If it disdained its brother;
And the sunlight clasps the earth
   And the moonbeams kiss the sea:
What is all this sweet work worth
   If thou kiss not me?

After our breathtaking ride, we easily bribed the kids with ice cream and took advantage of the wine tasting that one of the shops offered.  Then our hard-core retail therapy was back in effect.  9.5 hours in total.  I’d say our kids earned their Pro badge.

*** I need to give credit where it is due… Emma took a lot of the aerial tram pictures & she’d want people to know that :)***

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Good times, I got sunshine, Me, Other Peeps, Road trips, The kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to White lightning

  1. Harper Faulkner says:

    I think I’m enjoying your vacation as much as you are. I have been to all the places you mentioned today, but you seemed to have more fun! I just sit and watch people why my wife and daughter shops. As to you young lady, I don’t know if mixing moonshine and wine is a great idea! My favorite pictures were your girls outside of Dicks. They are little divas! And, I like the hats at Dicks. You look like the Pope. Maybe not as saintly, but still, the resemblance is there. All joy in enjoying further travels. Remember, you’re just a down hill slide to Dollywood. The kids would love it! HF

    • Chris says:

      Harper, you crack me up! I hope that everyone who reads any of my vacation posts has as much fun as I do. I don’t have many skills in life but the ability to have fun is probably one of them. I’ve considered making up cards that say “Have Fun, Will Travel” but it doesn’t seem like a solid occupational move for the time being.

      Thank you for the advice of mixing moonshine & wine sampling. Fortunately, they only give you the tiniest bit so we were more than able to continue on with our mom & shopping duties. The girls are ALL divas! You are accurate with that assessment. I bet you couldn’t tell they’ve all been cheering since they were 5! They hide it well, as I do my sainthood 😉 Thanks for reading AND commenting!

  2. Just came back from Gatlinburg …blogging about my cousin and my adventures…looks as if you visited some of the same places…HOW FUN!~mkg

  3. Pingback: Day #3 …You thought we were through??? « MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

Leave a Reply

