Where them girls at?

Yesterday, I picked Emma up from school and the following conversation unfolded…

Me: “Emma, I don’t know if you’ll have soccer practice tonight.”

Emma: “Why not?”

Me: “It’s raining and your coach says he doesn’t practice in the rain.”

Emma: “My coach is not a man then.”

I couldn’t help but laugh.  It was just so unexpected from an 8 year old.  And slightly accurate (in my mind).  We drove on a couple more miles before she demanded a better explanation…

Emma: “But why doesn’t he play in the rain?  Is he a scaredy cat?  I’m a little girl and I’m not afraid.”

Me: “Well, I’m sure he isn’t scared of it, Em.  He just doesn’t like it.”

Emma: “He’s a scaredy cat and he needs to be a man.  It’s only a little bit of water.”

~sigh~

We frantically ate dinner while Dan & I discussed the dilemma at hand.  Her coach had repeatedly told us that he didn’t practice in the rain but how much moisture constitutes rain?  It seemed a little subjective.  We agreed that Dan would take Emma just in case.  I got a call 5 minutes later…

Me: “Hello.”

Sullen, little, chipmunk voice: “Hi mom.”

Me: “Hi baby.  No practice then?”

Emma: “No.”

I told her we’d go shopping for all the birthday presents we needed at Target instead.  We piled in the van and headed to the store.  As soon as we got there, I darted off to find the cotton balls I needed.  When I reconnected with Dan, Emma and Gerrit again, she was holding something.

Emma: “I want to get this for my daddy… because he’s a real man.”

image

Sweet and hilarious.  I hope her future husband doesn’t mind playing in the rain.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Funny stuff, Me, My family, Other Peeps, The kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where them girls at?

  1. joannesher says:

    Toooo funny! LOVE it!

  2. Stephanie says:

    I love this girl!

Leave a Reply

