Hey, that’s no way to say goodbye

chasing dreams, work, writing

Remember when I used to have a blog?  Gosh, those were the days.  Now, I pour my heart and thoughts into other people’s pages and posts.  Selling the flickers of what I like to market as “genius” to the highest bidder.  And what’s it got me, you’re asking?  Well, for starters a paycheck.  After careful consideration, I’m thinking that’s not so bad.

Dreams are a wonderful thing, folks.  They motivate you and stretch you to become something more.  Something better.  To have more, experience more, accomplish more, give more.  To pack as much as we can into that stretch of highway called our lives.  Creating a legacy between the beat of birth and the pause of death.  Moments of triumph, doubt, sadness, jubilation, desperation and determination.  Juggling responsibilities and enjoyabilities, trying to find a balance for the best person we can become.  Brought to you in part by the dream you hold dear in your heart.

I had a moment of clarity last week when I remembered that if I’m not feeling pangs of self-doubt or stretching my abilities throughout the day, if I’m comfortably wading through life with nothing to overcome or growing to become, I’m probably not living hard enough. Character building days are meant to do just that and if I don’t use them, I can plan on losing them.  Dreams are meant to be chased, and in that plight we might miss some things.

We acknowledge dreams motivate and drive us, but we forget that there’s a very simple design flaw tucked inside them all… they aren’t real.  Nope.  Not until you MAKE them a reality.  So how do we do that?  What’s necessary to catapult our dreams from living inside our heads and hearts to existing on this big ole spinning globe we call earth?  I think I’ve determined it to be…

Money.

Ah yes, money.  Green backs, deniro, nickels and dimes, dead presidents.  Cold hard cash.  Clichés abound about it… money is the root of all evil, money talks and a fool and his money are soon parted.  We like to blame life’s problems on the lack of it but all secretly hope we get another large helping of it for ourselves.  Please.  Maybe just a smidgeon more?  The truth is we all need it.

But if we all need it and we all use it, it can’t be bad or good.  Can it?  Money becomes what you do with it, right?  And if our dreams are to become a reality, dollars are a necessary tool we will use to build them.  The wings to give them flight.

I’ve been blessed with an opportunity to collect my ‘wings’ via work that challenges me and fulfills me.  And while that means my presence on my blog has been lessened, missing the day-to-day of life’s pains and pleasures, it doesn’t mean the passion of my pursuit has been dulled.  I just may not be able to share it as often 😉

Fear not.  This is no ‘goodbye cruel world, for the end of my blog is nigh’ post {Or for those that don’t enjoy Shakespeare ‘the blog is done, yo’}.  I have no wish to end the chronicles of my small and at times ridiculous existence.  I don’t think I could ever quit it completely.  I’m surprised when people tell me they read my words and it always thrills me.  I don’t ever want to lose that.  Thank you for reading.  It might not be as often but I promise, I’m still here.  Until then, I bid you adieu.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Me, Money, My family, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hey, that’s no way to say goodbye

  1. Claudia says:

    Ah, the balance of life. We’re meant to climb to the top of the mountain—but just not to stay there. We’re meant to earn a living — but by loving money and using people. Congrats for balancing the life you live. It’s a skill many don’t have.

    • Chris says:

      I’d like to say I have it all figured out, Claudia. But that’d be a lie. I’m a work in progress. While I may not be able to update that progress as often as I used to do, I will continue to do so. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  2. Awesome! Its truly amazing paragraph, I have got much clear idea on the topic of from this piece of writing.

Leave a Reply

