Cosmic love

 

you blogs coffee

God made me with light hair but dark eyebrows and I’ve always wondered why?  Everyone knows they’re supposed to match each other and yet, mine do not.  I’d come to think of it as a massive oversight on God’s part.  Probably, he was so busy looking after the heavens and Earth he didn’t notice he’d make a mistake on matching me up.

He must have been very busy when he made Dan too.  He’s got a mismatched brow/hair combination as well.  Our birthdays are 17 days apart so one easily assume it must have been a busy time in the world for the big guy to make such an obvious error not once but twice in such a short time frame.  It was a bicentennial year, after all.  Things can obviously get overlooked with such excitement happening.  No big thing.

Dan and I have been together for nearly 18 years but it wasn’t until the other day that a new thought dawned on me.  I was getting ready in the bathroom when Dan came in and hugged me from behind.  As I looked at our reflection in the mirror, the same reflection I’ve seen a thousand times, I saw something different.  Instead of seeing the oddness of our eyebrows on our faces, I saw how they complimented each other.

Me: “Our eyebrows don’t match ourselves but they match each other.”

Dan: “What?”

Me: “You have brown hair and blonde eyebrows, while I have dark eyebrows and light hair.”

Dan (slightly mocking voice): “Aw… we complete each other.”

Me: “We do!  It’s like God knew we’d need each other to make a normal person.  That’s why our kids hair and eyebrows are right.”

And that’s when I realized that God hadn’t made a mistake at all.  It wasn’t that he’d been too busy to put us together the right way.  He’d matched us up perfectly.  It’s just that our perfect match is found in each other.

He knew I’d have endless ponderings, so he gave me someone who could answer them all, even when they’re ridiculous.

He knew how much I’d love to laugh, so he gave me a guy who could always make me smile.

He knew sometimes I’d be weak, so he gave me a spouse who was strong.

He knew I’d be quick to anger, so he gave me a companion who was easy-going.

He knew there’d be days when my heart was heavy and lost in darkness, so he gave me a man who could lift me and show me the sun.

He knew there’d be times when my mind was a tornado, so he gave me a partner whose thoughts were calm.

He knew I’d be overwhelmed by things sometimes, so he made my other half a problem solving wizard.

He knew I wouldn’t always believe in me, so he gave me a husband who always would.

Our eyebrows are really just a visual of something I already knew… apart, we don’t make as much as sense as we do together.  And when I think of it like that, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

A falling star fell from your heart and landed in my eyes...

A falling star fell from your heart and landed in my eyes…

 

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Dan & Chris, Me, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

