Stop me if you think you’ve heard this one before

I have a been a poster child for Newton’s Law of Inertia.  This body of mine has clearly been at rest for far too long.  After a summer full of vacations that dipped into mid September, my wardrobe has become a prison instead of a comfortable shell to venture out into the world.  The pressure of my clothes around me like a thousand little pixie hands, strangling me from all angles.  Time to admit that all those days of lounging by a lake and nights of big dinners topped off by heavy beer had caught up with me. 

And so my dieting began.  Back to smaller portions and tracking my input/output on MyFitnessPal.  Throw in a couple of simple workouts, lot’s of water, better choices… all those things we know to do to lose weight.  I wasn’t hugely overweight, mostly just out of shape.  This shouldn’t take long.  A couple of pounds lost, my jeans sitting easier on my frame.  You’d think I’d feel better.  I thought I would too.  I don’t.

I know, I know… insert eye roll here.  I feel slightly annoyed as well.  I feel lied to. You mean to tell me that the number on a scale or the tag in my jeans isn’t the end goal?  What’s the objective then?  If I still don’t feel good, what am I missing?  After some serious thinking, I have an answer.

Being fit.  Simple (and cliché) as that.  Over the last two months, I’ve been an unmotivated sluggard.  Sure, coasting through the days sounds great but after a while it’s just not.  Exercising hard used to be a daily event for me and I miss it.  I like feeling my heart pound in my chest with an honest sweat running down my face after a workout.  I like when I feel strong.  I’m slightly not even embarrassed to admit that after a grueling workout, I feel a little like a superhero (minus the tights).  Lately, I’ve been a lot more Clark Kent than Superman.

When I think about it, exercise makes me a better person in general.  I feel more confident.  I have more energy.  I’m more motivated to accomplish things.  I’m in a better mood.  My house is cleaner.  My whites are whiter.  Alright, my whites are whiter because I finally bought Oxiclean but you get my point.  Working out affects a lot more than just the way I look or how much I weigh.  It changes the way I look at life.  Makes me an active participant instead of a spectator eating popcorn on the sidelines.

I know I’ve learned this lesson before but inertia is a tricky thing.  Once that ball stops rolling, it’s a humdinger getting it started again.  Guess it’s time to get my equal and opposite force on.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in Becoming, Me, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized, Woe is me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment