How soon is now?

The blessing about already having made a decision is that you don’t need to make it again.  Yesterday… that was my saving grace.  Since I’d already committed on Saturday that I would be running today, I could change the question of will I to when will I?  That’s what got me on the treadmill for Day #3.

My run went a little something like this…

First 10 min

  • occupied myself with picking out a tv show/channel for the first 5min
  • decided that tv is crap and put on headphones
  • distracted myself with picking out a killer song… settled on Florence and the Machine’s Shake it off
  • felt good

Second 10 min

  • pleasantly surprised that time is going by so fast
  • become optimistic about becoming a runner again
  • downgrade that optimism to skepticism after an agonizing 1.5 minute
  • wonder how Bruce Springsteen could have possibly thought Pink Cadillac was a good song to add to his repertoire
  • consider the 732 things I need to do today
  • tell myself that this is important too
  • remember that in running, all underwear is not created equal

Last 10 min

  • totally and completely over this run, decide to change channels to distract myself
  • accidentally fling the remote across the room with the channel stuck on a horrible song
  • go back to listening to headphones instead to drown out the ‘i hate this’ chant that’s playing through my mind
  • wonder why time is going so incredibly slow
  • remind myself that my mind doesn’t know the difference between what’s real and not… begin chanting ‘i love this’ to myself
  • decide to run 1 extra minute

Done with another day.  Scout did his usual congratulatory lick on my calf.  I’m sure this is his version of a high-five.

About Chris

These are the pieces of my life and those that make it worth living
This entry was posted in 30 days of running, Becoming, Me, Music, Random Ramblings, Running, Stuff that ticks me off, Uncategorized, Woe is me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How soon is now?

  1. Great job of running on the treadmill! Blues Brothers is GREAT to run on the TM too. 🙂

    • Chris says:

      Thanks! The weather has been unseasonably nice here but I’m afraid if I start running outside this soon in my newfound schedule, I’ll never get on the treadmill again. I’ll suffer through for a bit. Let me know how you like the barefoot running! It’s intriguing

Leave a comment